FO: Small Socks!


I started these just before Christmas 🎁 for my little niece, but never quite finished them.  She’s just over two years old and I have absolutely no idea about toddler foot sizes so there was quite a bit of research done on the length and width of the socks that would best fit her.  Honestly though, I finished the first sock and thought ‘No way! That’s going to be huge on her!’ I’m still not sure if they’re the right size. 😊

The pattern itself is made up. I cast on 16 stitches for toe up and increased to 44 and started working in seed stitch for the main pattern. As always, I used a German heel.

Yarn: Superba Bamboo Superwash in 013
Pattern: Seed Stitch Toddler Socks by me
Needles: 2.5mm Knitpicks Harmony Circulars
Notes/Modifications: I made the pattern up as I went along and added seed stitch in the mix to liven it up a little. I made these toe up and used my normal German heel.

Hopefully they’ll fit my little munchkin and she enjoys them!

This year has started well and I’m relatively happy with how the crafty side of it is going. I don’t like making resolutions because they eventually become obligations and tedious and would hate to give up on something just because I’ve made myself do something that I’m just not enjoying. So this is not a resolution, just something I want to keep in mind before a start anything new. I want to try and finish each if the projects that I have on the needles. Over the last few years I’ve had a tendency to start multiple projects and then get bored and start something new. That means I have plenty of WIPs sitting in my multiple knitting baskets just crying out to be finished. Poor things. Now I know that just plugging away at each of the projects that I have already cast on isn’t going to work for me. I’ll get bored again and then just not knit. So, I’m going to try and finish off one WIP and then when it’s done, I get to cast on a new project. Finish that and then move back to another WIP.

That’s the plan anyway. Let’s see how it goes!

And in theme with that, this is the WIP that I’ve picked up and want to finish before casting on a new project.


This is a beautiful scarf that I started in Winter 2015. It’s a Houndstooth Scarf for Ollie.

He picked the colours when we visited a lovely yarn shop, called Fies Strik on Aero Island, Denmark 🇩🇰 (it’s the island where we got married in 2013!!)

So far I’ve struggled a little with this pattern. I’m finding it hard memorising the 4 rows making up the pattern and this is leading to some very slow knitting! It was the reason I put the scarf down and cast on a new project. Since picking it back up after finishing the little socks, I’m finding that I’m liking the pattern more. Still haven’t memorised the pattern but I’m not worrying about that!

Slowly, slowly but I’ll get there!

As expected though, I already have a list of patterns that I want to cast on next.

There’s Water from Sylvia McFadden. Then there’s the Linney Cardigan by Amy Christoffers and finally there is Constellate by Hunter Hammerson.

Choice, choices!

Let me know what you’re knitting and what you want to be knitting next!

Leave a Reply

