Well hello again!

I realise it’s been a while (3 years!!!) since I last posted and I truly apologise to anyone who is still reading this blog.  Life kinda caught up with me and even though I was still crafting, I was mainly using it to keep me sane.

There have been completed knits, crochet projects and even some cross stitch and I’ve had fun completing things, but haven’t really kept a catalogue of what’s been done.  Sorry again.

Hopefully I’m back now and I can concentrate on getting this blog back up and running.

In the meantime, we moved back to the UK about 3 months ago and I’m slowly finding my feet again.  I love where we are living. The area, the people, the house etc all is fabulous.  I just need to find some activities that get me out of the house a bit more! But that will come with time.

As we’re settling in I’m finding that I want to add some home made comforts to the place and with that in mind, I finally took the plunge and bought some t-shirt yarn so that I can make a rug for the lounge.


It turned up and I started my project using a pattern from Mandalas to Crochet and found that I was really struggling with the hook.

I’d bought a set from knitpicks and previously had no issues with the hooks at all.  They’re a pleasure to use and the grip made them easy to manovouer.  But with the t-shirt yarn I just seemed to struggle.  I was using the 10mm hook and at first I thought it was just because I don’t really crochet with the larger needles.  After a couple of evenings I changed that opinion.  It wasn’t the size of the hook that was the problem, it was the actual hook.


If you take a look at the picture you can see that there’s a bit of a ledge between the hook and the grip.  That’s what was causing the problem.  With the yarn itself being chunky, that gap is just not big enough. Especially when working stitches other than chain, slip, dc (sc in US).  The bigger stitches were just so much harder to work.  I put the project down and did a quick search to find a more suitable needle and ended up purchasing the HiyaHiya 10mm.


There is no ledge. It’s a smooth hook with just the grip and it’s amazing!  I only literally just got this hook and already I can feel the difference.  My hands aren’t cramping and the crochet is coming along much faster and much smoother than with the knitpicks hook.

I still love the knitpicks hook, but I’ve learnt that for chunky yarn, I’m going to have to but hooks that don’t have that ledge…

Hopefully this helps someone else when they’re picking out hooks for projects.

It’s nice to be back.  Let’s see if I can post a little more often! 🙂

Happy Sunday to you all!

Leave a Reply

