FOs: Socks for Kate & Yoga Socks

Neely's

Kate’s birthday was in February and I actually had these finished in time. But. At the same time, I had a trip planned to the UK so, I packaged up the socks quickly and then posted them when I got back. Unfortunately, in my haste, I didn’t take proper pics of the finished socks. What you have instead is some work-in-progress shots. They were also late.. Sorry Kate!

Neely O'Hara Socks

Yarn: Schoppel-Wolle Zauberball in Brombeeren
Pattern: Neely O’Hara Socks by Liz Abinante
Needles: 2mm dpns
Notes/Modifications: I didn’t really change anything. The heel was worked as specified, but the toes were my default ones. I should try some new ways, but I like the way my toes look, so I’ll keep using this method.

These were nice and easy to work up and I love the colour transitions of the yarn from dark to light.

These are now with Kate and I hope she’s enjoying them, especially in this not-so-spring weather!

Yoga/Pedi Socks

Next up are my yoga/pedicure socks that I finished last night!

I am so chuffed with these. They are snuggly and warm and perfect for both tasks. I used them last night for painting my toenails.. unfortunately, I spent more time admiring my socks than concentrating on my painting, so they look a mess! So no pictures with them on.. instead you get my lovely foot model. The socks then got another outing this morning for yoga.

Yoga/Pedi Socks

Yarn: Noro Kureyon Sock Yarn in S188 (purples)
Pattern: Yoga Socks #153 by Patons
Needles: 3.25mm KnitPicks Harmony
Notes/Modifications: The pattern is for a smaller length of sock, but I wanted mine long, so I made them longer. I used the full skein for both socks. After the pattern section, the pattern calls for an increase in the number of stitches, and I did this with the first sock and found that it was way too big for me, so I ripped it back to the increase and just carried on with the 64 original sts. The rest is the same as the pattern

Yoga/Pedi Socks

This was a pretty easy project. Apart from the ripping back of the first sock and reknitting and the whole splitting the skein in half so I had enough for both socks, I loved making them. It got a little tense near the end of the second sock as I had only a little of the yarn left, but my maths was correct and it all worked out great. 🙂

Yoga/Pedi Socks

I hope you’re all having a great weekend. Here’s hoping that spring will make an appearance soon!
What are you all knitting this weekend?

2 thoughts on “FOs: Socks for Kate & Yoga Socks

  1. I love both the socks! The yoga ones are particularly gorgeous, but then I’m a sucker for Noro colours. I really don’t like the feel of the Kureyon sock yarn though, have yours softened up at all?

    • Thanks honey!! Yeh, I have a problem with the yarn too, but it really has softened up nicely since I first made and wore them. They’ve been washed a few times on the wool cycle….

Leave a Reply

