FO: Malachi Vest

A few months ago Cosy from cosymakes put a shout out for volunteer knitters and I responded. The pattern she wanted test knit was a simple vest for a baby/toddler. I made the 12 month size.

Malachi Vest

Malachi Vest

Yarn: Cosymakes Snapdragon worsted @50g & Debbie Bliss Stella @50g
Pattern: Malachi Vest by Cosette Cornelius-Bates
Needles: 4.5mm KnitPicks
Notes/Modifications: This was a test knit so I followed the instructions as they were. My only change was the increases for the straps. My backward loop increases looked completely messy so I used the Make 1 instead.

Malachi Vest test knit

This was a complete joy to knit and when I have occasion to knit one again I most definitely will. I found my only issue was actually with my contrast colour yarn choice. The Snapdragon is wool and is fab to use.. Soft and squishy and adorable, but the Debbie Bliss was not so much fun. It’s cotton and pretty hard on the hands… I am a little worried that, with time, it will stretch too much. Hopefully the wool will actually help the cotton keep its shape.

Malachi Vest

The pattern itself is nice and easy to follow and there were enough size choices to cover from a new born through to a toddler. Also, as the pattern is so easy, I can say that it would not be too difficult to up-size this for a growing child if you wanted to.

Malachi Vest

Well done Cosy on another fabulous pattern!

7 thoughts on “FO: Malachi Vest

  1. Hey Kai, happy 2013 and I am hoping for the very best for you and yours. The knit is so cute. I love pink. Thanks for popping by the blog and yes, try the two minute meditation…it’s awesome. Two minutes is just SO doable šŸ™‚

    Hugs,

    Raina

Leave a Reply

