Q & A

First of all, thank you for all the lovely messages with regards to the loss of Ruby. They mean the world to us. He was a special little chap.

Now to the actual post itself. The lovely Kate from Confessions of a Graveyard Gypsy has asked that I answer some questions with regards to knitting and me.. to be honest, I’m a little scared! I haven’t really thought about why I knit recently, I just know that through all the rough times knitting has kept me sane. This should be fun!!

1. Of all the projects you’ve knitted for yourself, which is the one that you wear most often?

Hmm.. I would say that there are a number that I wear the most and probably equally. The first is Kaleidoscope Cardigan where I first tried knitting with two different yarns and alternating rows. The Mrs Darcy cardigan is another and I love this as it’s made from so little yarn and still makes me smile with joy. Francis Revisited is another… love love love. And out of all of these Audrey is the least worn, mainly cos it slightly felted in the wash right near the beginning. I would wear it more often if not for this.. 😦 Huldan Takki Cardigan, Rocky Coast Cardigan and Zick-Zack Tunic are my last few knits and already I know these will be staples in my wardrobe.

2. What item would you never knit, even if you were offered a million pounds/dollars/euros to make one?

Oh my, this is a hard one. If you’d asked me last year I would’ve said a dress or a skirt.. but I’m starting to look at patterns for both of these recently.. hmm. Ohh I know. Underwear. Or bathing suits. Not happenining. Ever. And clothes for dogs… seriously. *shakes head*

3. Do you have a favourite place to knit in your home?

The corner of my sofa. It’s my place and it’s where all my knitting ‘essentials’ are kept on the coffe table next to it. I actually, rarely, knit anywhere else inside the house.

4. How long do you spend knitting per day?

There is no set amount of time. It’s pretty much any spare time that I have. Every time I sit down with a cup of tea or turn the TV on is knitting time. Thankfully!! 🙂 I probably spend about a couple of hours every evening and more on the weekends.

5. Do you have a favourite knitting (or other craft) magazine?

Not really. I love Interweave Knits and Spin-Off from the same company. But I generally like lots of others as well, like the e-mag Knitty.com. And Twist Collective. Whatever catches my eye to tell the truth!

6. Have you ever used knitting needles for something other than knitting?

Yep. To check whether my cakes have cooked through and to put up my hair. Oh and once to tie up a chilli plant and keep it growing straight!

7. Have you ever – successfully – taught another person to knit?

Yes! And that was a complete thrill. There were 2 people. One no longer knits, but has the knowledge and the second still picks up the needles every now and again when she has the time.

8. What is your favourite flavour of crisps?

Hah!! I’m boring when it comes to crisps. My favourite above all else is Ready Salted. That’s it. It’s the taste of the actual crisp as well as the Flavour that I like. My second favourite is Salt & Vinegar, but only if I can’t get any Ready Salted! And the crisps in Germany taste so different from those in the UK.

9. Have you ever given up knitting for a long period of time (more than six months)?

No. Spinning, yes. But not knitting. This is the one thing that keeps me sane. Calms me down when I’m stressed and gets me all excited when I find something that ignites my imagination. It started when I needed something to ‘re;ax’ my brain after working in front of the computer for hours for my job. Now it’s so much more than that. So much.

10. What makes you laugh?

Lots of little things. Ollie when he’s being funny or moody. The dogs, when they’re being silly. Life. My friends. The animals that frequent our garden and the cat, when he wants to play with the dogs.

11. What is your favourite book?

I’m a voracious reader, so I don’t have a favourite book really. I have favourite genres and authors. For sci-fantasy, the authors I turn to are Robin Hobb and Terry Practhett. For romance, it’s Judith McNaught. But give me a book and I will read it.

12. Do you accurately know how much yarn you own?

Maybe not to the last yard, but yes. I have everything catalogued and that’s the way I like it. It stops me from spending more and makes me want to use what I already have. It was hard though to catalogue it all. I realised I had more than I could ever, ever knit… oops.

Well, that was fun!! I’m supposed to pick people to answer some questions as well, but I think I don’t have enough readers for that, so I’ll put the questions up and if you fell like answering them, then please do and let me know so I can read your answers!!

My questions:

1. What’s the knit that makes you feel the most like yourself?
2. What’s your favourite yarn or blend to knit with?
3. My favourite garments to knit seem to be cardigans, what’s yours?
4. Who is your knitting idol?
5. Who’s stash would you like to swap yours for?
6. What other crafts would you like to try, but haven’t yet?
7. Your favourite flowers are….
8. What’s your favourite type of book to read?
9. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?
10. What are your guilty pleasures? Keep it clean though!! 🙂
11. What is your most proudest knit?
12. What have you knit recently that a few years ago you would never have knit?

Have fun peeps!! I’m looking forward to some interesting answers!

3 thoughts on “Q & A

Leave a Reply

