FO’s: Two Cowls for the coming Winter

I seem be on a ‘must-keep-warm’ knitting stint at the moment. My attention is being monopolised by big thick knits that I know are going to keep me going through any type of Winter, mild or cold.

I think one of the easiest knitting projects has to be cowls and in that vein, I spent a Sunday afternoon a few weeks ago just browsing through cowl patterns and picking a few that I really liked.

The first cowl I couldn’t resist casting on for was Cupid Cowl

Cowly Cupidness

Yarn: Rowan Kid Classic in shade 502 – Grey
Pattern: Cupid Cowl by Hiroko Fukatsu
Needles: 5.0mm Knit Picks Options
Notes/Modifications: I used the Cable Cast-On and then Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Sewn Bind-Off. Everything else was as the pattern was written.

Cowly Cupidness

I loved both the cast-on and bind-off methods and I have to say that I think I’ve finally got the sewn bind-off down pat. I’ve used it before on a pair of socks and it just didn’t work, but this time it was fine.

Cowly Cupidness

The cowl is delicious and cosy and I love it. The only thing that I would change is the actual length on the cowl. A little larger and I think it would drape a little better. It’s still getting lots of wear though! Oh and I repurposed the yarn. I’d actually used a little over a skein for the Meret Beret but I’ve never worn it since I finished it and I just thought it would be better used in an item that I can get some wear out of. Glad I did it!

The second cowl is the Jewelled Cowl and something that I am really pleased with and so so proud of.

Starry Night

Yarn: Malabrigo Yarn Lace
Pattern: Jewelled Cowl by Sachiko Uemura
Needles: 5.0mm Knit Picks Options
Notes/Modifications: Once again used the Cable Cast-On and the Sewn Bind-Off. This was my first ever beaded project and rather than use the crochet method for it, I actually threaded on the 728 beads on to the lace yarn. This was mainly due to the fact that the beads were smaller than recommended and I didn’t have a small enough crochet hook that would fit through the holes! This seemed to work fine though.

Starry Night

I love this cowl. More than I thought I would. It’s actually a little more purpley-blue in real life and that makes the beads stand out that little bit more. I will definitely make this again with a brighter yarn and some beads that actually are the complete opposite on the colour wheel.

Starry Night

Both these cowls will definitely get plenty of wear this Winter. And on that theme, here is a sneak peak of my Montview Cardigan

Montview

It’s grown a little since this picture was taken and I’m loving both the pattern and the yarn…

I am going to be pretty snuggly and warm this Winter, that’s for sure!

Let me know what you’re all knitting for this season…

One thought on “FO’s: Two Cowls for the coming Winter

  1. They both look lovely! I especially love the first one, the pattern could be just what I’m looking for for some stripy handspun – the slip stitches should show it off nicely. I’m into cowls at the moment, I’ve just finished one, I need to block it today. I’m trying to make inroads into my stash of handspun, I’m getting there – slowly!

Leave a Reply

