And to continue…

As I said in my previous post, there has been plenty of knitting here, so today I’ll give you a quick update on some more. So today, it’s all about socks!

First up we have a pair of cotton socks that I made for Ollie

Ollie's Cotton Socks

Yarn: Lana Grossa Meilenweit 100 Cotton Fun
Pattern: 3×1 rib by me.
Needles: 2.5mm Knit Picks Harmony Circ
Modifications/Notes: None really. This is just a mish-mash of patterns that I am currently using for all of Ollie’s socks. I generally start toe-up with Judy’s Magic Cast-on (which I absolutely love) and then work in 3×1 rib for the instep and plain st st for the sole. Short row heel and then 3×1 rib all round the leg and then 1×1 ribbing for the cuff and my current favourite bind-off, the tubular bind off. Fab and easy and quick.

I also made a pair of socks using the same recipe, for Ollie, made from Noro Sock Yarn. I have to say, I was a little worried about this yarn because it does go very thin in areas, but when knit up it makes a lovely thick fabric, which I;m hoping lasts a long time and is hard wearing. Unfortunately, no piccie, I finished them just as Ollie was leaving for Copenhagen. I’ll grab a picture when he makes it back for Christmas.

Leyburn Socks
Yarn: Colinette Jitterbug in Tapis
Pattern: Leyburn Socks by MintyFresh
Needles: 2.5mm Knit Picks Harmony Circ
Modifications/Notes: I followed the pattern as written as far as I can remember.

I loved making these, although I think that was more to do with the fact that I was fascinated with the colour changes of the yarn.

And lastly, we have a pair of Duckies for me!

Duckies Socks

Yarn: The Plucky Knitter Sport MCN in Lisa Carol Fremont
Pattern: Duckies by Samantha Hayes
Needles: 3mm Knit Picks Harmony Circ
Modifications/Notes: I used the tubular cast-on (can you tell I’m loving the tubular methods??!!) and then followed the pattern as is. These fit so, so well and they are nice and plush… 🙂

That rounds up the sock knitting. I think I have one more update post and then we can only hope that normal service will resume here at Yarn Mistrys.

Actually, on that note, I should really say that the web address has changed. Most of you should automatically be re-directed here. The look and feel is the same as before, but due to issues with my ISP, I’ve had to look at an interim solution, and WordPress seems to be the best way to continue. I hope everyone has found me successfully and will stick around and let me know what you all think to what’s happening here!

To leave on a pleasant note, here are the dogs enjoying all the snow we have in this part of the world

The Dogs in Snow
The Dogs in Snow
The Dogs in Snow

2 thoughts on “And to continue…

  1. I’ve only just discovered Judy’s Magic Cast On. It’s wonderful. 😀

    The Duckies are very cute. I’m impressed you managed to photograph your own legs, too… 😛

  2. Lovely socks – handknitted socks are so much warmer than shop bought ones too. Your dogs are very cute – mine loves the snow but comes in with little snowballs attached to the feathering on his legs – surprisingly hard to remove!

Leave a Reply

