Homemade Lemon Curd

I’m getting the feeling that this blog is becoming more of  a ‘My Recipes’ blog than a knitting blog! 🙂

I do have knitting to share with you, but I think I’ll save that for another post.  For now though, I’ll rhapsodise about my lovely Lemon Curd.

Homemade Lemon Curd

Recently, our vegetable box has contained a couple of lemons every week and normally they get used up in whatever we decide to bake.    I’d kind of assumed that I’d used them all up, but rummaging through my fridge I found last weeks lemons and then this weeks turned up too, so I flicked through some of my jam/preserves/chutneys recipes and really couldn’t find anything that I really wanted to make with these little babies.

Thankfully last week we had a new book turn up called ‘The Basic Basics Jams, Preserves and Chutneys Handbook’ by Maguerite Patten.  Browsing through this, I found a quick and simple recipe for lemon curd.

Having never made a curd before, I’m really, really pleased with how this turned out.

Homemade Lemon Curd

The recipe calls for 3 large lemons, 115g butter, 225g sugar and 2 large eggs.    You grate the lemon rinds being careful not to go into the white pith. Juice 2 of the lemons for about 5 tablespoons of juice.  Take the zest, juice, butter and sugar and place in a double boiler with hot (not boiling) water in the bottom half.  Whisk until all the butter and sugar has melted.  Beat the eggs and add to the warm mixture.  Stir constantly, but not vigourously, until the mix thickens enough to coat a spoon and then pour into sterilised jam jars.  Store as you would your jams etc.  One thing to remember is that the curd continues to thicken as it cools, so you don’t really want to cook this too long.

I’ll definitely make this again.  It’s a great way to use up those extra lemons and it’s handy when you have pancakes, or need a filling in a cake!! 🙂

Oh, and a quick weather update.. it’s freezing and the snow has not stopped.  We are stuck indoors…. for now anyway!  Maybe there’ll be snow angels a bit later.

Leave a Reply

