What's that I hear…?

No! Seriously?! There’s actually been some SPINNING and some DYEING at Chez Mistry? I can’t believe it!

Hello Yarn Corriedale Grey & BlackFirst Dyeing

Well, to tell you the truth, I can’t either. 2010 has definitely not been the year for spinning. I’ve done a little bit here and a little bit there, but nothing serious in a long while. I just couldn’t get into the swing of spinning again.

But, a while ago, I was sketching out some ideas that had been brewing in my mind for a while and I found that one particular design was itching to be set down on paper. The design it self is pretty simple and consists of lace and some thinking outside the box, but the yarn that I wanted to use needed to be dark and something that I had in my stash already. I searched through my Ravelry stash and couldn’t see anything that fit the image in my mind. What I did find though was some fibre that could potentially work. The problem I had was I didn’t think I had enough of one fibre colour. The design calls for a light weight yarn; laceweight or at the most light fingering. So a pulled a little of one colour and a little of another and came away with a corriedale 2 ply in grey & black which is exactly what I wanted. Out came the spinning wheel and this is what I have.

Hello Yarn Corriedale Grey & Black

Fibre: Hello Yarn Corriedale in Grey & Black
Type: 2 ply Lacewight (26 wpi)
Length: 980yds/897m
Weight: @200g

This is half of the fibre so far and I need to get on start spinning the 2nd batch pronto, but I can’t wait to wash and whack this and then start swatching… I’m excited to have finally got back to spinning and I actually spun with a project in mind!

First Dyeing

As for the dyeing, I mentioned in my last post that I’d never done it before, so you know this was my first attempt. Thankfully it was nice and simple and didn’t involve more than one colour. The friend I am doing this for wants a scarf in red and beige silk, so I picked out some of the Debbie Bliss Pure Silk in Ivory and added some red acid dye and here is the result. I’m really very pleased with this first attempt. I think it could’ve had more ivory left in the skeins, but I’m sure that’s just me trying to find problems with it.

First Dyeing

I’m hoping to do some more dyeing in the next couple of weeks and see whether I have a knack for mixing colours too! I have plenty of ideas, it’s just a shame I didn’t have them in Spring when the weather was more conducive to yarn drying!! 🙂 Ah well, better late than never.

I’m off to wash and whack my spinning now..

5 thoughts on “What's that I hear…?

Leave a Reply

