Autumn is here

Autumn Leaves

And I have no idea where the Summer has gone this year. *shakes head*

Autumn is here

With the coming of Autumn, the trees are all shedding their leaves and our driveway up to the front door is covered in leaves. It’s a beautiful sight and I love seeing it every day.. better make the most of it though because Ollie is getting ready to sweep them all up and put them on the composter and rhododendron bushes.

Legwarmers

I’ve been feeling the whole winter-is-nearly-here thing and it brings out two sides in me. One is the lets knit everything in my stash so that I know we’ll be warm inside and outside all the time and the other side is, let’s just stay in bed and sleep through until Spring. Makes me feel all lazy and yet I want to be industrious. A step in the latter direction are these super easy legwarmers that I knit up from some of my own handspun (results from some of my early forays into spinning) and so far they have not let me down. My legs are all snuggly and warm! 🙂

Homemade Ravioli

This weekend just gone was all about experiencing new things. It was Diwali on Friday and Saturday was New Year for us Indians. I actually got the dates right this year and on Friday, we lit a few tealights and called family, it was all nice and cosy. We also decided to try our hand at making our own ravioli, Spinach and soft cheese.. It was extremely yummy and even more satisfying realising how easy it is to make your own ravioli.

Natural Dyed Alpaca Lace

We spent part of Sunday at a local craft fair and it was great getting out and seeing some of the artisans in the area. I’ve found a wonderful lady that dyes yarn using plants from her garden. The Alpaca lace above was actually dyed using cochineal, but trust me the other yarn colours from the garden were absolutely stunning. Makes me want to get on and plant my dye garden that’s been percolating in my head for about a year now. I love the idea of dyeing up yarns using my own plants, but I suppose it would really help if I actually experienced dyeing yarn first. *blushes* I’ve had all the gear for a LONG time, but it just seems that I’ve never quite got around to having a go.. I’m always great at the conceptualising, but the actual execution seems to be just out of my grasp. That is about to change. I’ve had a friend ask for a custom-dyed knitted item and I have just the right things for it, so I think tomorrow I shall start on my first ever dyeing experience… wish me luck! 🙂

One last thing before I tuck in to some very, very late lunch. I’ve had a couple of people contact me with regards to the last post I made, on how the lists are actually compiled. This is what the Wikio website says:

How are these rankings compiled?

The position of a blog in the Wikio ranking depends on the number and weight of the incoming links from other blogs. These links are dynamic, which means that they are backlinks or links found within articles.

Only links found in the RSS feed are included. Blogrolls are not taken into account, and the weight of any given link increases according to how recently it was published. We thus hope to provide a classification that is more representative of the current influence levels of the blogs therein.

Only links found in RSS feeds are counted. Blogrolls are not taken into account.

Our rankings are updated on a monthly basis and also include Top Blogs for several categories: Technology, Politics, etc. New categories will be added on a regular basis.

Hope that helps!!

Autumn Leaves

5 thoughts on “Autumn is here

  1. I don’t know about autumn, it feels pretty wintery over here just now. Your ravioli looks yummy – do you have a pasta maker to roll out the dough? Naturally dyed yarns are beautiful – often with some really subtle shades within a skein.

  2. Lovely legwarmers. Feeling very excited about moving into spinning now that husband surprised me with a spinning wheel.
    Autumn splits me those same two ways too. Knit, knit, knit or sleep, sleep, sleep. Usually the former though with my childrens sleep patterns!
    Thanks for the added info on the wiki listings, couldn’t believe it when I saw my blog in at 24 ad really wanted to know how they worked it out. I didn’t think many people ready mine at all…….
    Divali blessings.
    xx

Leave a Reply

