Not so much knitting…

.. at the moment. I have things on the needles, but they are test knits and I’m keeping schtum about them for now.

Kiwi & Apple Jam

Instead, I have been jamming! We have an organic fruit/veg box delivery every week and one of the fruits we get are kiwis. I’m not a huge fan of the furry little things, but Ollie loves them. Recently though, they seem to be piling up in the fridge, so I decided that as our garden fruits have all been obliterated by the massive heatwave we had in June, I would jam these little babies instead.

I present to you my Kiwi & Apple Jam. The apples are also from the fruit and veg box.

Kiwi & Apple Jam

Ingredients:

950g Kiwi fruit, skinned & chopped (that’s about 15 kiwis in total)
350g Apple, skinned, cored and chopped (that’s about 3 big apples)
1400g Sugar
1 Tbsp Lemon Juice

1. Skin, and chop the kiwi’s and apple into a huge jamming pan. Add the lemon juice.

2. Cook on a low heat until the fruit is mushy. If you like your jam with huge bits in it, don’t cook it for too long. I like mine smooth, so I blitzed it with a hand-held food processor.

3. Add the sugar and stir until the sugar has completely melted and the mixture is boiling.

4. Turn the heat down and simmer until the mixture reaches it’s setting point. I normally keep a small plate in the freezer until I think the jam is ready to test. Put a dollop on the plate and wait for it to cool a little, drag my little finger through the middle and if the gap closes, then it’s not ready. If the gap stays, then it’s ready to be moved off the stove.

5. Place mixture into sterilised jars. Store in a cool dry place and when you open a jar, store in the fridge.

Kiwi & Apple Jam

I added the apple initially, for the pectin content, but then I thought that the two flavours would really work together. Every recipe I found on the net only used a little apple and removed them at some point in the jamming procedure. I decided to keep mine in and blitz the jam instead. The kiwi is tempered by the apple and isn’t as sour as it would normally be; still has a tangy flavour. Of course, the sugar helps as well! πŸ™‚

Kiwi & Apple Jam

I love, love, love this jam and it’s definitely going to be added to my jam recipes.

6 thoughts on “Not so much knitting…

  1. Oh that looks just lovely. I am not a fan of kiwi as well, but in jam I think it would be wonderful, especially paired with apple. Hope you are having a great summer… definitely no heat waves in our area. We have had the coldest summer I can remember. My flowers did not come up in some cases.

  2. Oooh we always have a glut of wrinkly kiwis too. They come in the box every week and no-one eats them so I have started saving a couple of weeks and then turning them into jam. Funnily that never hangs aroung here long! Nice in smoothies too.
    xx

Leave a Reply

