New Pattern: Summer Tabi Anklets

Tabi Socks

During the time that I was over in the UK mid-June, we had some really, really lovely hot weather. So hot that all we did was spend any spare time we had in skirts and shorts, and wearing our flip-flops, or champals as we call them in Gujarati.

I love my champals. I have many, many pairs. Some for the beach, some for the house, some for going out and some just because I liked them.

One thing I did notice though was that as the afternoon moved into evening and the sun set, my little feet were getting cold. Now at first, I slipped on some woolly socks and ALL my family had a bit of giggle at me.. Then I tried my ankle socks, but they don’t have a toe-split, so it was pretty uncomfortable. That’s when I came up with a design idea. I WANTED ankle socks that had a toe-split, so I could wear my champals with them. Nice toasty toes with some funky little socks and gorgeous champals. Heaven.

Tabi Socks

These are made from Rellana Flotte Socke 4 Ply (main body) and Schachenmayr nomotta Regia Color 4-ply (heels and toes). In total they took just under 200 yds for a pair of size Eur 37/UK 4/US6 ankle socks.

They’re pretty easy to knit up and I’ve put in a bit of a twist with an after-thought heel (well, what I think is an after-thought heel, anyway).

You can download the pattern from Ravelry

TabiCollage2

I hope people enjoy making them! 🙂 Any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Also, thanks to everyone that contacted me about my For Sale post. Both the Drum Carder and Spinning Wheel have now been sold and should be making they’re way to their new homes soon.

3 thoughts on “New Pattern: Summer Tabi Anklets

  1. Those socks are BRILLIANT. 😀 I don’t have any shoes that need them, either, so it’s a great excuse to go shopping. 😉

Leave a Reply

