FOs: Sleeveless Tuxedo Tunic and Jaywalker Socks!

Woohoo!! I’ve been waiting practically all week to make this post, but the Tunic was blocking and was taking an age and I really wanted to get the Jaywalkers off the needles, which happened last night…

Sleeveless Tuxedo Tunic

Yarn: Rowan Calmer in 461 Beige x 5 skeins
Pattern: Sleeveless Tuxedo Shirt by Theresa Schabes from Interweave Knits Summer 2007
Needles: Knit Picks Harmony 3.75mm and Brittany Birch 4mm crochet hook.
Modifications/Notes: I added an extra inch to the length and that was the only mod I made.

First up is the Sleeveless Tunic. I loved this pattern. It was plain st st for a long time and made for very good TV knitting. The yarn is a joy to work with and is pretty stretchy. One thing I did find was that measuring the piece required all kinds of gadgets. I ended up pinning it out before measuring, which became a bit of a chore and I also found that I was stretching it as well… oops. The final product is actually a little longer than I wanted, and I really shouldn’t have added the extra inch. One thing I noticed when blocking is that the front actually has a colour disparity. I obviously used one skein which didn’t match the rest, even though they’re all from the same dyelot… grrr. I’m not changing it. I don’t actually think you can see it, but if you can, do let me know… Other than that, it’s comfortable and light and I’m wearing it to the rock festival tonight!

Next we have some socks! Only my second pair of the year, surprisingly.

Jaywalker Socks

Yarn:ONline Supersocke 100 Highland Color in 839 multi
Pattern: Jaywalker Socks by Grumperina
Needles: Knit Picks Harmony 2.5mm Circ
Modifications/Notes: I followed the pattern as is until I got to the toe and did my own toe.

These socks are great. I’ve had the yarn in my stash for a while but have never quite found the right pattern for it. Mainly due to the whole multi-coloured-ness of it. I think this pattern has definitely brought out the yarns great colours and the two work really well together. These I think I’ll keep for me. I’m not being greedy, honestly. In the last couple of weeks I’ve found 3 pairs of my socks have holes in them…. šŸ˜¦ This is the reason why I’m adding these lovelies to my stash!!! šŸ˜€

As an aside, here is a piccie of our homegrown chillies that we harvested yesterday…

Homegrown Chillies

yummy, no?

I’m off to a rock festival tonight, so I bid you all adieu and hope you all have a fabulous weekend!

6 thoughts on “FOs: Sleeveless Tuxedo Tunic and Jaywalker Socks!

  1. That tunic is stunning! Love it! I like the length, but then I have a three-pregnancies-belly to cover. The straps are great; often those tops have weeny straps which don’t cover a bra. šŸ˜¦

    Enjoy the festival!

  2. what a fab tunic- you’ll be the coolest person at the rockfest!

    awesome chillies too, and I think I need to add Jaywalker to my ever increasing queue

  3. Oooh, LOVE the top, and the socks are so nice, too. ā¤ (I can’t see any colour disparity, BTW.)

    Yay chillies.

    Isn’t it funny how socks all seem to wear out at the same time? Several months ago, I had multiple pairs all blow holes within two weeks of one another, despite some being years older than others.

  4. I can’t focus on anything else but that tunic. It is AMAZING, GORGEOUS. Wow. You did an amazing job. I absolutely love all that detail and the color is perfect. I am certain this will be a fave wear for you.

  5. I can’t focus on anything else but that tunic. It is AMAZING, GORGEOUS. Wow. You did an amazing job. I absolutely love all that detail and the color is perfect. I am certain this will be a fave wear for you.

Leave a Reply

