Been a while..

This post has been lingering in my mind for a while.. There have been moments where it may even have made it to the writing stage, but then was discarded. I can’t begin to tell you why this may have been, but blogging seems to have been evading me lately.

Actually, I seem to be have been having blogging issues since the beginning of the year. 😦 Hopefully though, this will change now that Spring is here and I’ll have an opportunity to get out and about a bit more etc.

On to the post now, which I hope you all find interesting. There’s a bit of knitting, a bit of cooking and a little bit of the other.

collage1005102

A few weeks ago, Ollie and I ran out of mayonnaise and I kept forgetting to add it to our shopping list, so everytime we needed it, there was none. I rashly promised one evening that I’d give homemade mayonnaise a go and having said that, there was no way I couldn’t at least try… so I gathered up the ingredients one afternoon, subbed dijon mustard with normal mustard as that was all I had and set forth on my ‘mayonnaise’ quest.
I failed. It was a complete disaster and tasted way too much of the mustard, I then tried to be clever and added more egg, but not within the process. In total it was a waste of 6 eggs. Bad, bad Kai. I slinked off in defeat and thought that I would definitely remember to BUY mayonnaise the next time we went shopping.
Standing in front of the condiments in the supermarket, I couldn’t make myself reach for the mayo, so we went home and I tried again. This was also a disaster, but that was due to using Olive Oil, instead of some normal sunflower oil, my bad. Chucked that and had one last try and I have to say, I have never tasted mayonnaise so good. It had a great consistency and was slightly yellow and tasted fabulous… nice. Admire my bottled mayonnaise.

Homemade Mayonnaise

As well as that there has been lots more new endeavours in our cooking, involving bread (made by Ollie), cheesecake (made by me), cornbread, homemade pasta, homemade pizza, a new chinese dish with basil, garlic and chilli’s. There’s also been some of of normal dishes, but we’ll talk about that another time.

On the knitting front, I’ve finished the Travelling Woman stole, but unfortunately, it hasn’t been blocked yet, so I’ll give that one a post of it’s own.

Socks for Ollie:

Ollie's Brown Socks

Yarn: Lana Grossa Meilenweit 100g Uni/Solid in 1328 BrownPattern: My Own just a 3×1 rib throughout and it’s toe up
Needles 2.5mm Knit Picks Harmony Circ

On the WIPs front, there has been a lot of pondering about what big project I needed on the needles after Starsky, but I couldn’t decide on anything. I’ve been really into cardigans lately, but having just suffered a misfortune with Audrey, where I put it in a 40 degree wash, because my 4 ply soft label says that I can but it felted slightly, I’ve kinda gone off making them for the moment. Not really their fault, but I can’t get it out of my head.

Jaywalkers

So I settled on another pair of socks. Jaywalkers. I’ve never made them before and avoided jumping on the band wagon when I first came back to knitting, but I’ve always liked the subtle zig-zag effect and I had the perfect yarn in my stash so I cast on. I’m on the second sock and it’s coming along nicely. 🙂

Sleeveless Tunic

And for a big project, I was flicking through some of my Interweave Knits mags and I came across the Sleeveless Tuxedo Shirt, I love the design and I love the little lace panel on the front, with the little ruffles.

I swatched with the GGH Bali that’s been in my stash forever and with some Rowan Calmer that has also been in my stash forever. I settled on the Calmer in Beige because it looks like it will be cooller for those hot summer days I am waiting for.

The collage at the top of this post has some of the nature pictures that I’ve taken recently, my favourite is the Tulip pic. Here it is again, with some others for you to admire:

Blooming Tulip

Birdie

Red Aphids and Ants

Flowers

I think that should keep you all busy until the next post and I promise I won’t be away so long.. honestly. 🙂 Hope you all have a fabulous week and that the sun is shining where you are.

7 thoughts on “Been a while..

  1. *admires mayonnaise*

    I’ve always been too chicken to make my own as it seems far too risky. But if you can make mayo, you can make cakes now, missus. 😀

    I love the tunic, too. Glad you settled on Calmer because I knitted an entire sweater from Bali and it bobbles like buggery. 😦 Though that may be in part because I was a bit slack with the washing…

  2. Lovely post – worth waiting for! Now you’ll have everyone who reads your blog making mayonnaise! The jaywalkers look great in that wool which really is perfect in the pattern. Now look forward to seeing the tunic fo, no pressure!

  3. LOVE the tuxedo shirt! I want to make that too – once I figure out what yarn to use, etc.

    Sorry to hear about the felting, that would turn me off cardigans for awhile too. :o(

  4. I love your photo collages. What a great post. You have been a busy girl. Amazing socks. I laughed at your mayo story….I think it took me 5 batches of wrecked ‘goo’ before I accomplished a fab mayo.

Leave a Reply

