Presents and Cozy's

Just before Christmas 2009, I was visited by the lovely Diane and we spent a few days lounging around, relaxing and flicking through some of my knitting books. One of my reasons for wanting to flick through the books was a need to find a beautiful project for the equally lovely Kate for her upcoming birthday in Feb. Diane and I both loved Nancy Bush’s latest offering ‘Knitted Lace of Estonia’ and in that I found the perfect triangular shawl for Kate:

Kate's Miralda Shawl

Yarn: Fiddlesticks Zephyr Wool-Silk in Elderberry
Pattern:Miralda’s Triangular Shawl by Nancy Bush in Knitted Lace of Estonia
Needles:3.5mm Knit Picks Options
Modifications/Notes: I didn’t modify anything, just followed the charts as set. The one thing I do remember is that I spent an AGE doing the nupps section. It was pretty fiddle-y with the Zephyr, but I got it done and the rest was a complete breeze.

I love this shawl and it was pretty hard to give it up! πŸ˜€ I know Kate will enjoy it though.

I also celebrated a birthday as well, but we won’t speak about that much. I have some money to spend from Diane and some lovely patterns that Kate purchased for me and I have some lovely jewellry from Ollie and his parents. My parents are off to India this weekend, so they’re bringing back pressies for me.. I love opening presents after my birthday, kind of prolongs the birthday itself!
As a present to myself, I went off to a local craft show, my first ever in Germany. I spent the day with some of the lovely knitters who are part of the Knitting OWLS group on Ravelry and we shopped, ate and knit. Lovely. πŸ™‚

While we were shopping, I was speaking to one of the ladies about needing to knit myself a phone cozy. I’ve been meaning to make one for an age, but being a lazy moo, I put it off. Well, I finally decided that I really didn’t have any more excuses not to get on with it.

Mobile Phone Cozy

Yarn: ONline Supersocke 100 Bambus Color in 951 Pinks
Pattern: My own
Needles: 2.5mm Knit Picks Harmony
Notes: I used Judy’s Magic Cast On and started with a total of 32 stitches. Knit one round.
Increase 2 sts each side on next round. carry on knitting in round until cozy covers phone.
Eyelet round: * (yo, k2tog). Repeat from * to end.
Knit 2 rounds.
Picot bind off: * cast on 2 sts, bind off 4 sts. Repeat from * til end.
Tie: Using crochet hook of right size, chain 47 sts. sc into third chain from hook and sc in each chain till end. Break yarn.
Thread tie through eyelet holes. Add beads to ends and place phone inside!!

My phone is now nicely protected. πŸ™‚

Audrey in Red

On the WIPs front, I have an Audrey in Unst in progress. I love Gudrun’s patterns and this is no different. It’s a well written pattern, easy to follow and the results are fantastic. I have nearly finished the second sleeve and I just need to do the neckband and button bands. Hopefully, I should be done this weekend. I can’t wait to be wearing this!

4 thoughts on “Presents and Cozy's

Leave a Reply

