Are you sure you knit… ?

Aimed at me of course.. It does seem like I haven’t been around much, especially with the lack of posting on the blog (mainly due to a prob with my isp… again.) But honestly, I have been knitting there is a lot to update you with.

First up are some hats that I’ve made to keep our little heads warm when we take the dogs out for a walk.

Turn a Square Beanie

Yarn: Sirdar Country Style DK in 538 Green & 618 Brown
Pattern: Turn a Square by Jared Flood
Needles:4.5mm Knit Picks Harmony
Modifications/Notes: No gauge swatch, so it’s a little big. Ollie loves it though. 🙂 I also used the jogless seam instructions, but I think I need some more practice.

Wurm Hat

Yarn: Sirdar Country Style DK in 538 Green
Pattern: Wurm hat by katushika
Needles: 3.75mm & 4mm Knit Picks Options
Modifications/Notes: For the hem I did 10 rows before the purl row and 11 after. I did 7 repeats of the pattern as that made it sloucy enough for me. It’s more like a beanie. Perfect! 🙂

Next up we have some gifts… Diane came to stay for a long weekend early this month and it gave me the opportunity to give her her birthday gift:

Kai-Mei Socks

Yarn: The Plucky Knitter Merino/Cashmere/Nylon in Riverview Drive
Pattern: Kai-Mei socks by Cookie A from Sock Innovation
Needles: 2.5mm Knit Picks Harmony
Modifications/Notes: No changes..

and her Christmas gift:

Diane's Scarf

Yarn: Fleece Artist Sea Wool
Pattern: made up
Hook: 4mm

There has been some more sneekret knitting, but I’m waiting for the recipient to open it!

But finally, another pair of socks:

Over The Garden Wall Socks

Yarn: Artist’s Palette Yarns Sweet Feet
Pattern: Over the Garden Wall Socks by Louisa Sisson and Emma Haigh
Needles:2.75mm Knit Picks Harmony
Modifications/Notes: Didn’t do the vines.

I had issues with these mainly due to my naff sizing abilities. I made the first sock too long, then I cast off the second sock too tight, frogged the first sock and re-knit it from half way up the foot and cast off correctly. They look great now that they’re done, but it’s taken since August to get them done.. And they were the reason my knitting mojo decided to go away on extended leave. The mojo is back now and hopefully I’ll have more to post for you soon…

In the meantime, in case I don’t make it back before Christmas, here’s wishing you all a very Festive Season and a Very Happy New Year!

3 thoughts on “Are you sure you knit… ?

Leave a Reply

