FO: Kaleidoscope Cardigan

Woohoo!! An FO! I feel like it’s been a long, long time since I’ve finished something, but looking at the FO’s list, I see that it really wasn’t that long ago that I finished Buttercup. Hmm, I wonder what that’s all about then.

Anyway, I proudly present to you, Kaleidoscope:

Kaleidoscope

Yarn: 1 x DIC Smooshy in Forest Green & 1 x Sunshine Yarns Soft in Froggy
Pattern: Kaleidoscope by Sarah Sutherland
Needles: 3.5mm for ribbing and 4mm for body and sleeves
Modifications/Notes: I used the pattern more as a guideline than actually following it. The ribbing was twisted, the sleeves tighter and lengthened, I did more yoke decreases (though not enough, I think), the body decreases and increases were made at different points and I used the size 40 to get a size 34, as my gauge was way off.

Kaleidoscope

I also checked out meganimal’s Kaleidoscope and decided I really wanted to do this is reverse stockinette, but that didn’t quite work out the way I wanted, so I ripped back and decided that stockinette stitch was better. I used two different yarns and alternated them on each row, which made the increases/decreases a bit fiddly as some were on the RS and some on the WS, but you really can’t tell in the finished piece!

Kaleidoscope

I’m a little unsure about the button bands and think maybe I should unpick them and re-do them with more stitches.

Other than that, I’m really pleased with this knit and I even got to match my lovely orange buttons to it!! It’s coming with me to the UK later this week, so I can show it off a little.

Kaleidoscope

Oh and Ollie made us a fruit tart on the weekend.. it was yummy! And those strawberries were from the garden!

Strawberry Tart

12 thoughts on “FO: Kaleidoscope Cardigan

  1. Oh, I love that cardigan, beautiful colour (green is my favourite colour, as you might have understood) – and the buttons!! The tart looks delicious too πŸ™‚

    Tori

    PS The yarn arrived on Friday – it’s lovely!

  2. I LOVE the yarn colour. πŸ˜€

    The cardigan looks gorgeous on you, too. You are so lucky that I’m too round of belly right now for me to come and steal it from you. πŸ˜‰

  3. What a gorgeous cardigan! I love the way you’ve worked the two greens together, it’s turned out beautifully. I’m totally inspired to make one of these myself now πŸ™‚

  4. The food AND the sweater look delicious! The fo is beautiful – one of those pieces you’re sure to get a lot of use out of. Fantastic pairing of yarn to buttons, btw. πŸ™‚

  5. Oh I so love that cardi. Beautiful green color and it is fitting you exactly the way I love a cardi to fit – perfect for layering with a longer tank top.

Leave a Reply

