Fruits of Our Labour..

Peas & Chillis

.. I started growing chillis when I was in the UK a few years ago and it seemed only natural to start up some more plants here in Germany. Using lots of chilli in Indian cooking is only natural (in my household anyway!) so having 3 different varities made sense. I love my chillis, but do you know what I found I’m also really very proud of? The rest of the garden and what it’s producing. Ollie and I have spent lots of time planting seeds and seeding plants and transplanting them into beds etc over the last few months and to finally have a ‘harvest’ is amazing. Above, you can see my lovely chillis, but also, equally lovely, is the first pickings of peas that we’re growing. There isn’t a lot there, but we have plenty more in the garden waiting to be picked!

Pumpkin Flower

We also have this wonderful sight. It’s a pumpkin flower. Now I never expected these to come out, but we have 4 in total and I’m over the moon! Thatdoes mean though, that the melon plants we planted with them are not doing so well.. 😦 You win some, you lose some I suppose.

Jam & Jelly

And finally, I’ve spent the last few days making jams and jellies!

We have a huge patch of strawberries that are throwing off new fruit practically every day and just behind it are bushes of red currants.
I made some plain strawberry jam, some strawberry and redcurrant jam and yesterday I spent hours in the kitchen making a redcurrant jelly. Ollie wants strawberry syrup for ice cream and milkshakes etc, so I’ll probably make that tomorrow. The picture above is only a few of the jars that I’ve filled with all this jamming & jellying etc!!! πŸ™‚

There’s plenty more in the garden yet to be harvested.

Scones anyone? πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Fruits of Our Labour..

  1. Homemade jam is good for pregnant women, you know. πŸ˜‰

    The chillies are great. i’d love to be able to just pick one when I needed it but my fingers are just not green at all.

  2. I love those gorgeous colours and the chillies look amazing. We’ve got a plant at home, which is doing quite well. But yours just take my breath away.

    I also like the look of those jams, woudl love to try some!

  3. Wow, that looks amazing…I certainly have nothing to harvest as it still snowed in Calgary last weekend. I am on Vancouver island visiting the parental units right now and they have tons of stuff growing already.

Leave a Reply

