Apologies and Engagements

First of all apologies for being away for so long. Blogging took a back burner for a couple of reasons this last month.

The first is related to the second half of the title. Nope, I’m not engaged, but my younger sister has! πŸ™‚ I was completely overjoyed when she called to tell me. This is a very special occassion and she’s been extremely busy planning for this. The event takes place at the end of this month and keeping this in mind, I was over to the UK in May. I spent two weeks visiting my folks, the girls and my brother and also shopping for the event. I have to say, I hate shopping. I hate Indian shopping even more. We spent 2 whole days walking up and down both Melton Road in Leicester and Wilmslow Road in Manchester, looking at sari’s and suits and bangles and jewelry and shoes etc etc etc. I had very, very tired feet. I have an outfit, but no shoes and no jewelry, after all of that. But I’m not worried! πŸ™‚ Ever the optimist.

I also got to spend some lovely days in London in the middle of my break. I stayed with the lovely Diane and then we spent a fantastic afternoon with the ever gorgeous and blooming Kate. She made us a lovely thai meal with salmon and my mouth just waters from thinking about it.

Diane and I also got a chance to visit Socktopus. The shop owned by Alice. She has a lovely piccie of me fondling some very pick yarn on her blog. πŸ™‚
They say that yarn purchases on holiday don’t really count towards stash.. yeh right, I bought stuff at Alice’s and at Stash in Putney! Oops.

Unfortunately, as you can see, I have no piccies of my visit to the UK. I am a bad blogger. 😦

But to make up for that, here’s a few of our veggie patches and my new herb spiral:

The Garden
1. Herb Spiral, 2. Pumpkins, 3. Three Sisters, 4. Sweetcorn, 5. Potatoes, 6. Chillis, 7. Flower Bed on Swing, 8. Aubergines, 9. Hammock, 10. Tomatos, 11. Current Herb Bed, 12. Herb Spiral

Created with fd’s Flickr Toys.

As well as all this grafting, I’ve actually started spinning again. There was a huge lull recently on the spinning front, but that seems to have passed.

Yarn Wench Neptune 2 ply

Fibre: The Yarnwench Falkland in Neptune
Type:2 ply Sportweight (12wpi)
Length: 214yds/196m
Weight: 116g

On the knitting front, I’ve just completed my lovely Buttercup in some DB Pure Silk I’ve had in stash for a good 4 years.

Pure Silk Buttercup

Yarn: Debbie Bliss Pure Silk in Lilac
Pattern:Buttercup by Heidi Kirrmaier
Needles: 4mm and 3.5mm Knit Picks Harmony Circs
Modifications/Notes: I added extra pattern repeats at the bottom of Buttercup.

This was a really fun knit and I’m definitely going to make more. My only issue is the yarn I chose. I chose it mainly because it was in my stash, knowing that that much silk might not work well in a top. Also, as it’s a single ply, it twists a little, but I knew all of this before starting. It’s currently blocking at the moment, so I’ll put up modelled piccies soon and you can all let me know what you think.

I think I’ve rambled on enough for this post, so I’ll leave you all in peace now. Here’s to a gorgeous, sunny weekend! Enjoy! πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “Apologies and Engagements

  1. Hate shopping!! Surely that does not include yarn shopping?

    I got to go sari shopping in Manchester a couple of years ago and loved it but I guess it was a novelty for me. I hope you will share a few wedding photographs with us when the time comes.

    Buttercup looks wonderful, it must hang beautifully.

Leave a Reply

