FO's: Socks & an award

I’ve just finished two pairs of socks in the last week or so.

The first are plain socks for Ollie, who seems to go through them pretty fast. I think I need to buy some stuff to stick on the soles so he doesn’t wear them out as quick.

Ollie's Plain Socks

Yarn: Rellana Flotte Socke 4 fach in 4312 Dark Blue
Pattern: Just my normal plain socks recipe, with a new-to-me short row heel technique.
Needles: 2.5mm Addi Circ
Modifications/Notes: I used a short row heel method that didn’t involve wraps that was shared on the Lime N Violet Daily Chum It works really well and I’ll definitely use it again.

The second are a pair of Nutkins:

Jitterbug Nutkins

Yarn: Collinette Jitterbug in 67 Copperbeach
Pattern: Nutkin by Beth LaPensee
Needles: 2.5mm Knit Picks Harmony Circ (until Flynn sat on it and broke a needle in half) & 2.5mm Addi Circ
Modifications/Notes: I reversed the chart on the front and back so that it was symmetrical. I worked the heel as it was supposed to be (short rows using YO’s instead of wraps) but I found it a bit gappy, so I definitely need to practice that. Also, I changed the heel to my normal one and grafted the toes.

So there are two similar yet different heels that I learnt in these socks and on the Nutkins, I learnt about using a hem for the cuff.. same method as the picot cuffs, which I love!

The Nutkins were off my needles in a matter of days, the pattern was scrumptious and so easy.

On a different note, Suse-the-slow-knitta has awarded me the following:

friends_award

Blogs that receive the Let’s Be Friends Award are exceedingly charming. These kind bloggers aim to find and be friends. They are not interested in self-aggrandizement. Our hope is that when the ribbons of these prizes are cut, even more friendships are propagated. Please give more attention to these writers.

Now you know me, I don’t really do the picking blogs to award, as I truly believe that all the blogs I read deserve all the awards available. So, I’m saying once again that if you read this post, consider yourself awarded, please. I mean it.

9 thoughts on “FO's: Socks & an award

  1. *accepts award with modesty* 🙂

    Love the socks. I’ve been feeling guilty about the lack of manly socks being knitted around here recently, so am attempting to knit a pair. Will be interesting to see which comes first – baby or warm feet! 😛

  2. I love the socks. I have to say I really like the plain ones. I find that basic socks are the ones I love to wear the most and my husband loves wearing them too.

Leave a Reply

