FO: Whisper Cardigan

Whisper Cardigan

When I first received the Spring issue of Interweave Knits, I trawled through it and found a number of projects that really appealed to me. One of them was the Whisper Cardigan by Hannah Fettig. Now at the time, I decided that I really couldn’t cast on for anything new and intriguing until I’d finished some WIP’s, so I held off.

Whisper Cardigan

Well, I finally finished the Gathering Intentions jumper, just in time for the lovely warm weather that finally made an appearance! 🙂 I went back through my stash and through my queue of ‘must-haves’ and narrowed the list down to about 4 jumpers/cover-ups and Whisper came out on top due to the fact that I wanted something light and airy and something that would ward off the summer evening chill, but still be light enough not to be over warm!

Whisper Cardigan

Yarn: Rowan Kid Silk Haze in 605 (Grey) x 4
Pattern: Whisper Cardigan by Hannah Fettig in Interweave Knits Spring 2009
Needles 2mm & 2.5mm Addi Circs and 3.5mm Knit Picks Options Circ
Modifications/Notes I made the sleeves 3″ longer and the lower body 3″ longer. I decided that the body needed a few rows of ribbing to stop it from curling (and I hate blocking) and then as an after-thought, I decided to add some ribbing to the sleeves as well. Other than that, I followed the instructions for the middle size.

I have plenty of KSH stashed, but this is the first time that I’ve actually worked with it and it was a complete pleasure. I’ll definitely be stashing more, once I’ve worked through the current stash. I plan on making this again some time soon with some other yarn and when I do, I think I’ll cast off less stitches for the collar and make the lower body slightly fuller, if that makes sense.

I’m going to get so much use out of this lovely, floaty, summery cardigan this summer, so it better be nice and warm for most of it!

12 thoughts on “FO: Whisper Cardigan

  1. Look at how beautiful! I never would have dreamed that the Whisper Cardi was so light and airy! Is the KSH scratchy?

    -L

Leave a Reply

