FO: Gathering Intentions

Gathering Intentions

When I first heard of Fiona Ellis’s ‘Inspires Cable Knits’ I’d literally just tried cabling and thought it was great fun. The book obviously ended up in my library. Even though I loved the book and decided that I really needed to make myself a few of the patterns in the book, I never seemed able to get around to making them.

Gathering Intentions

During this winter, it became very apparent, very quickly that I need some more pullovers/jumpers in my wardrobe and seeing as I’m a knitter, it makes sense that I make my own!! I started this particular pattern in January and even though I got through bot sleeves and the back quickly, I found my enthusiasm waning when it came to the front. I finished the front earlier this week and the sewing up and i-cords took a day to complete.

Gathering Intentions

Yarn: Patons Diploma Gold DK in Apple Green x 8.25 skeins
Pattern: Gathering Intentions from Inspired Cable Knits by Fiona Ellis
Needles: 4.5mm Knit Picks Options Circ
Modifications/Notes: I made the sleeves exactly the same and decided that I didn’t want a gathered sleeve. I used a DK weight yarn rather than the heavier Aran specified and I’m really glad that I did. It’s lighter and definitely more me. Other than that, I followed the pattern as is. New Techniques: Cabling without a cable needle – I’ve done this before on smaller items, but this whole sweater was made without a cable needle, mainly because I couldn’t find it! πŸ™‚ Knitting two sleeves at the same time – definitely something to do again. I-Cords – Never made them before and it’s nice to have this checked off the list. So simple and effective.

All in all, this was a great project with plenty going on to keep me interested and I now have a lovely new cable-y jumper in my wardrobe.

11 thoughts on “FO: Gathering Intentions

  1. Beautiful! All that cabling is awesome – I haven’t tried any without a cable needle yet – this is certainly inspiring me to do so. Love that green.

Leave a Reply

