Back to blogging

Warning:  Picture heavy post!

I’m home!  I made it back from the lovely Pocono Mountains on Monday lunch and spent the rest of it in bed, catching up on the sleep I should’ve had on the plane.  My suitcase, on the other hand, didn’t quite make it home with me.. but that’s a different story.

SOAR was absolutely brilliant.  I met sssooooo many lovely, lovely people and that is one thing that I’ll carry with me forever.  The people.  All spinners and all so lovely.

I have learnt so much in the week that we were there and I feel like I can confidently tackle most anything to do with spinning.  Hopefully, I’ll be able to go back next year.  I took the Beginner Spinners class with the lovely Maggie Casey:

IMG_0513.JPG

She’s absolutely amazing and a fantastic knowledgebase.  I can’t thank her enough for all the things that she covered in class.  Maggie brought with her a Corriedale/Cotswald/Polypay fleece, all washed and ready for us to play with.

IMG_0508.JPG

We carded (I know how to card properly now!), we drumcarded, we flicked and we spun.  Woollen and worsted.  And I can now tell the difference and I can spin both methods.  I even know how to do long-draw!  🙂

Piccies of our class:
IMG_0509.JPG

Like I said, I met so many lovely people.  There was Ba, who was in my class and who gave me a lift from the airport.  Then there was Dee, who I plagued through-out the class as she was sat next to me and then there was a few cool gals who weren’t in my class, but with whom I hung out with in the evenings.. (that’s you Amy, Cosy, Meghan, Dana, Maria and the wonderful Diane!)  We spent part of an afternoon at a lovely waterfall:

DSC00087.JPGDSC00094.JPG
Amy & Cosy:DSC00099.JPG
Meghan:DSC00095.JPG
Dana:DSC00089.JPG
Diane:DSC00093.JPG

There were so many others!  I met Abby Franquemont and took a workshop with her.
DSC00085.JPG (Abby in her traditinal Peruvian Jacket)
I understand bottom whorl spindles now and am looking forward to my first one arriving sometime soon!

I took a Nancy Bush workshop on Estonian Lace.  Take a look at this stunning piece which she modelled for us:

IMG_0517.JPG

There there was Judith McKenzie-McCuins class on spinning silks.  Wow!  Judith is another fountain of knowledge and I love spinning silk!  Robin Russo was giving the goat workshop.  All about mohair and angora and cashmere… nice.  I was in heaven.

A few events that took my breath away were when Aquilina (a peruvian weaver/spinner/anything-fibrey lady) was weaving and spinning.  She also sang a few songs at our request and they were completely beautiful.  Aquilina grew up spinning and weaving and it was amazing to see her take on the fibre arts.  I also met Nilda, who set up the textiles museum in Chincero to preserve and sustain the fibre arts in the villages.  This brings their art and crafts to us and we share ours with them.  I was in complete awe.  Sorry about these piccies… I took them on my phone.
DSC00082.JPGDSC00105.JPG

Oh and I kinneared the Yarn Harlot:
DSC00100.JPG

I’m a lousy blogger though. I didn’t take my camera out enough and when I did, I ran out of battery power… 😦 Hence the phone camera piccies…

Obviously, I came home with goodies. 😀
Spindles:
IMG_0552.JPGIMG_0549.JPG
IMG_0545.JPGIMG_0541.JPG

Picture 1: Tulipwood and Ebony spindle from Spindlewood. Picture 2: Cocobola spindle from Spindlewood. Picture 3: Tibetan Spindle from Edward Tabachek (purpleheart and hickory and tigerwood for the bowl). Picture 4: Ebony & Tulipwood spindle from Avi Wasserman.

Fibre:
IMG_0564.JPGIMG_0562.JPGIMG_0559.JPG
IMG_0555.JPG

From left to right, Picture 1: 10% Cashmere, 15% Silk, 75% Merino from Lambspun. Picture 2: 100% Alpaca also from Lambspun.
Picure 3: Aubergine Silk/Merino Batts from Red Stone Yarns. Picture 4: 100% Cashmere. Picture 5: 100% Bamboo that I won while at SOAR

Quite a haul! 😀

And, while I was away, I had a few deliveries:

IMG_0537.JPG

A Unakite spindle from Butterfly Girl Designs.

IMG_0565.JPG

A Walnut spindle from Karen at Wildcraft.

And last, but not least, my latest shipment from The Plucky Knitters, Plucky Classics club:

IMG_0521.JPG

I had a great time, but it’s good to be home and now I can put into practice all that I learnt. 🙂

15 thoughts on “Back to blogging

  1. Like WOW, that is so cool the whole things sounds cool. Glad you are back,..come visit, I am having a giveaway (my rss feed is not working, not sure why, sigh!). Welcome back and get some rest 🙂

  2. Go Spindle Girl! I think you have more than me now 😉

    * plots ways to catch up *

    It was utterly brilliant rooming with you and spending so much time. I’m going to be stalking cheap flights next year.

    xxx

  3. Hey! Thanks for adding me to your blogroll! I think it’s really cool that I can read your post and hear your voice (and accent) in my head!
    Great pictures, and great stash enhancement!

Leave a Reply

