FO: Swallowtail Shawl

Finally blocked and photographed:

IMG_0482.JPGIMG_0485.JPG

Yarn: My own handspun from fibre bought from The Yarn Wench (BFL – Heart Throb)
Pattern: Swallowtail Shawl from Interweave Knits Fall 2006 (also available from Evelyn Clarks website here
Needles: 3.5mm Knit Picks Harmony Circular
Modifications: I only did 12 repeats of the Budding Lace Chart because I was afraid I would run out of yarn. I think this was a pretty wise decision considering I had about 11g of yarn left after I cast off!

This was a very, very quick knit and one that I needed to be that quick. I’m off to the Spin Off Autumn Retreat next weekend and I desperately needed something made from my own handspun. So far everything I’ve spun up hasn’t been in the jumper quantity, but it has been in the scarf quantity.. I pushed the boat a little and decided that a shawl would be lovely for this trip. I’m hoping to get a scarf finished before I go too, but we shall see. I’m just pleased I have this! 🙂

I also want to say Thank You to all of you for the lovely comments you left on the last post. I’m a slacker and haven’t replied to any comments in a long while, but this is too special not to respond to you guys. Thanks for coming along and reading my blog, it really is appreciated and I’m very lucky to have such great cyber friends! 🙂

On that soppy note, I’ll leave you all to enjoy your Saturday! 🙂 Have a fab weekend…

21 thoughts on “FO: Swallowtail Shawl

  1. Wow – not sure I can say it better than that!
    I’m also pleasantly surprised to hear that it was a quick knit – I’ve always been tempted to knit this one 🙂
    Just beautiful. I have a good time at the retreat!

  2. Beautiful! Stunning! Gorgeous! Is it a present for me 😀 pleasepleaseplease!

    I guess if I ever actually knitted anything from my handspun I might have a shawl too…

  3. Wow! How beautiful! I love Swallowtail, and it’s really nice to see it in your handspun. I have finished my first laceweight handspun and am eager to try knitting with it to see how it turns out. I can only hope it’s half as lovely as yours. Amazing!

  4. I am just getting around to reading all my fave blogs this weekend. I am so excited for you regarding the post below. And now for the wonderful shawl…it’s stunning. Lace looks awful when it’s in the ‘birthing’ process, but once finished it is so worth the effort. I have a hard time believing it was easy!

  5. Oh my, this is breathtaking. It’s lovely to see you back again and I have enjoyed catching up, glad to hear you are settling in, the new place looks lovely, so many beautiful trees.

  6. Pingback: Best of 2008 « I saw her STRANDing there

Leave a Reply

