Honey, I'm home…

We are in the new house and we have internet (very, very slow). πŸ™‚

The move went very smoothly and the new place is gorgeous and feels more like home than any place I’ve lived before, with the exception of my parents place.

Home

The garden has so many trees and we’re planning on setting up a small wood garden.  The back is south facing, so there’ll be veggie high beds and a herb spiral and a veranda when we have some money.

We have plenty of plans for this place. πŸ˜€ First off there’s some decorating that we want to do.  But the gardens need revamping.  There’s a pond too!  It’s closed off at the moment and needs to be pumped out, but that’s a project for the future.

I’ve just about finished setting up my craft room.  It just needs a few more bits and pieces and then it should be the haven I want it to be.  Piccies of that soon.

The dogs have both settled in really well.  It’s like they’ve been here forever. πŸ™‚

On a catch-up note, I’ve finished a pair of Monkeys and they are now housed in there special home with a special person:

IMG_0402.JPG

Yarn: The Plucky Knitter Superwash Merino in Colourway Madeleine Elster (Vertigo)
Pattern: Monkeys from Cookie A
Needles: 2.5mm Knit Picks Harmony Circular
Modifications: This time, just the heel, I did a short-row heel instead. I followed the pattern to the letter otherwise.

I also finished Laminaria and it’s all blocked too, just need to take a piccie of it blocked. Here it is unblocked:

IMG_0409.JPG

Yarn: Posh Yarn Cecilia in Forest
Pattern: Laminaria by Elizabeth Freeman
Needles: 4mm Knit Picks Harmony Circular
Modifications: I did 8 repeats of the Star Chart and the rest is as it was written in the pattern.

Blocked, it is quite a big shawl. Thankfully! πŸ™‚

Then we have another couple of pairs of socks:

IMG_0420.JPG

Yarn: Posh Yarn Lucia in Autumn
Pattern: Beaded Rib from Sensational Knitted Socks by Charlene Schurch
Needles: 2.5mm Grafton Fibre DPN’s

IMG_0421.JPG

Yarn: Rellana Flotte 4-fach in 938 (Dark Green)
Pattern: Hareton by Kate Blackburn
Needles: 2.00mm Addi Turbo Circular
Modifications: None

This was a fabulous pattern to work from. It’s well written and concise and the chart is very easy to follow. I had the repeat memorised on the first sock. My only issue is that I ran out of yarn before I could finish the second sock. So, I had to undo the grafting on the first and rip the toe out to be able to finish the second sock pattern and then I completed both toes using some black Opal 4 ply that I have in stash. The result is quite cool and Ollie loves them! πŸ™‚

I have another pair of socks on the needles at the moment from More Sensational Knitted Socks, but I think I’ll do another post for them later…

Also, before and while I was away, two lovely ladies gave me some awards. The first is from Lucy for the I heart your blog:

iloveyourblogaward.png

Thanks Lucy! πŸ™‚ Now I know I’m supposed to nominate 7 people for this award, but to be honest, I have a hard enough time deciding what my favourite colour is, forget which blogs I adore. I love all the blogs I read and each for very different reasons. So with that in mind, I am awarding this to all the blogs in my blogroll. Blog about it if you like. πŸ™‚

The second is from Kathryn:

brilliantoblogaward.jpg

Once again I’m supposed to nominate 7 people, but I’m using the same method as above. If you’re in my blogroll, consider yourself awarded! πŸ™‚

Thanks to both these wonderful ladies for considering me in the first place.

I think on that note, I shall now leave you all in peace. Hopefully blogging will now resume but we shall see. I’m feeling like I should start thinking about hibernating for a few months… it’s getting colder here and we’ve had the fire going most evenings this last week… Anyway, ciao for now!

9 thoughts on “Honey, I'm home…

  1. Ooh, I is special πŸ˜€ and I have warm Monkey feet!

    The house pics look awesome! I can’t wait to come and see it. I would love to have a place where I could garden and renovate and sit on the deck and spin…

  2. So exciting! Gorgeous place I am so happy for you and totally looking forward to pics of your craft room. Welcome back and I am glad your move is done. The dogs look very hapy πŸ™‚

  3. Oh, Kai! I LOVE your new home! It’s beautiful!

    Wow – you’ve really been busy! Thanks to you, I now need to add “Laminaria” to the list of things I want to knit….but have no time for!

    The “Monkeys” look great – this weekend, I’m taking an all day class with Cookie A. – I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

