Busy Bees…

The last couple of weeks have flown by and have been so busy! We had Ollie’s parents and elder brother over for two weeks and then Ollie’s younger brother for a week in the middle, with his girlfriend.

It was manic. There was family to visit and places to see and things to do and bits to buy… phew.

I think I’ve just about managed to catch up on household chores now and to get back into the swing of spinning and knitting.

Latest bits:

IMG_0293.JPG
Fibre: BFL/Silk from Fyberspates
Type: 2 ply Laceweight (24 wpi)
Length: 577yds/528m
Weight: 100g

This was my first time spinning silk and it was really quite slippery. It took a lot of concentration and a firm grip, but it was a wonderful spin and I’m so pleased with the results.

IMG_0311.JPG
Fibre: Wool/Mohair/Silk Blended Batt from Wildcraft
Type: 2 ply Laceweight (22 wpi)
Length: 62yds/57m
Weight: 25g

This was a lovely spin! And I love the way that the colours have worked up. I like the fact that I was able to keep the stripes. Woohoo! πŸ˜€

There has been progress on both the Summer Sampler and the Beaded Ribbing Socks (which I know I haven’t blogged about). As for the other projects, yes well, I’m ignoring those at the moment. I’ll come back to them… maybe..

I’ve also joined up for the Ravelympics to make the Laminaria Shawl and also the Cut & Paste Socks… I don’t think I can finish both in the 17 days… but here’s to hoping! πŸ™‚

Better get back to the claiming my house back.. Hope you’re all having a wonderful week. πŸ™‚

14 thoughts on “Busy Bees…

  1. Hi Kai,
    Sounds like you’ve had quite the whirlwind these last few weeks. Isn’t it funny how chores seem to pile up when you aren’t looking (smile). Three cheers for you and the Ravelrylympics (hope I spelt that right). Looking forward to seeing what you knit up.
    Dy
    P.S. The yarns are beautiful

  2. It’s great having guests especially when they’re family but it does make a lot of work doesn’t it!!

    Love your spinning – the silk looks gorgeous!

  3. Hehe, it’s nice to have visitors, but the return to calm afterwards can be lovely πŸ™‚

    Most impressed with your spinning, that’s a huge yardage you got from the Fyberspates blend, and I do love the orangy stripes you made with ‘Fire’.

    Good luck with the Ravelympics, I’ve entered them too, so see you over there!

  4. Hi Kai! Good to hear from you, sounds like you’ve been swamped. But what lovely spinning you’ve managed! I’m really impressed with your ability to spin so fine and even….and to keep the stripes. I really have a hard time with that!!

  5. Missed you! Sounds like you have been a very busy girl and seeing family is so great. Silk is one of my favorites – cashmere is my first favorite πŸ™‚ You have done a great job spinning – it looks wonderful. Hopefully you will knit it up and showcase the yarn in a project. Pretty soon you will have to start selling some of your homespun…you will start having a huge collection.

Leave a comment