Here we go once again…

Some of the ladies on the AY forum have just started a KAL. It’s the Summer Sampler from BadCatDesigns

Now, I’ve been admiring from afar. Watching their samplers grow. Ohh’ing and ahh’ing as each section is finished and loving all the lace work. Me? I’m not a big lace person. To date I have started one project in a true laceweight yarn and I frogged that. Lace just does not seem to be for me.

Wrong.

Here is my progress so far:

IMG_0181.JPG

I’m using Fiddlesticks Knitting Jaggerspun Zephyr Wool-Silk in Elderberry. I have two balls of this, which is great, but they are from different dyelots. So I’m alternating them every two rows. I’ve never done that before! πŸ™‚

So first’s with this project so far? Well, it’s laceweight. (A second actually, but it’ll be a first when I finish!) And, I’m alternating yarns. Cool. πŸ™‚

There are supposed to be 12 patterns, released gradually through the blog and so far we’ve had 6 of those. I’m on number 3 and progressing slowly.

More progress info and pictures, when there is some!

P.S. For those who are mumbling about my other WIPs.. I know, I know, I know.

16 thoughts on “Here we go once again…

  1. wow, I love how that’s looking so far, great colour choice. And you’ve picked the best lace weight to knit with, easy to use and it makes a gorgeous finished object πŸ˜‰

  2. just catching up…. I like your February Lady cardigan very much the coloura nd everything and those buttins really finish it off… I always find it unbelievable how somehting like buttons can make or break a garment….

    Esme is just too gorgeous for words and he knows it you can see it in her eyes…

    I look forward to your progress ont he summer sampler lace project… but the colour is nice I have two balls (again odd dyelots) of that colour in my stash…

  3. Mmmmm that’s such a delicious colour. Looks gorgeous so far, too. I love lacework, but I don’t do a lot of it with actual laceweight yarn–so fiddly sometimes.

    (Also? Love the sweater in your last post. It’s fabulous.)

  4. What an amazing colour. I haven’t joined that particular KAL but I have been watching it closely – I think the finished stole is going to be lovely.

  5. Wow I love your choice of colour! It’s looking lovely, what size needles are you using? I started mine in Zephyr, in violet (it got frogged!). Well done for having the patience to alternate, I’d be seriously tempted to not bother!!

  6. Kai – that’s exquisite. I don’t see myself as a lace person though I bought a lovely skein at Ally Pally to make a scarf with. I need to wind it into a ball first. I feel all inspired by seeing this.

  7. Very nice! I am definitely not a lace person either. It is too mind-consuming for my life. However, I would love to try one day. I like the color you chose – it is a pretty lavender – like the flower!

  8. Hi Kai,
    I recently found your blog and just wanted to say hello, the yarn on the lace is amazingly beautiful and rich. I’m yet to try a lace project myself, I’ll probably add that to my project list. Esmee is as cute as punch, I love Cavalier King Charles Spaniels but no one sells them here.
    Have a great week,
    Dy

  9. It’s looking lovely Kai. You have inspired me to download the pattern. Looking forward to seeing it complete.

  10. Thanks Kai! Well I was lucky that your beautiful pattern went so well with my yarn πŸ™‚
    How you doing with the sampler? Your photo of the colour of your yarn looks much nicer than the photo of it on the online shops it’s in!
    Vikki xx

  11. you choose such wonderful colours! I’ll watch your progress with interest ,as I’ve not dared to try lace yet even though I’ve inherited my Gran’s wonderfully fine needles.

Leave a Reply

