Spinning Joy!.. or should that be Sonata?

I was speaking to Ollie the other day about S.O.A.R the other day, saying how excited I was and that I’d registered etc. He sat there, smiling and nodding, and then became very alert when I said “You know, I’ll need a travel wheel for this?” Silence.

Yesterday, this turned up in the post:

IMG_0649.JPG

*loves* It’s a Kromski Sonata! Now we’d discussed this before and Ollie has always sourced someone in Germany that sells spinning goods, and we’d said that once I new about the S.O.A.R registration etc and whether I’d got in, we’d buy the wheel then. Well it’s early. Very! šŸ™‚ And I am chuffed to bits with it. I’ve been playing with it since yesterday, having spent a good few hours just sat here petting it and sighing!

With it, he also ordered these:

IMG_0646.JPG

Yep. The Harmony needles set from KnitPicks. Also through the lovely German Retailer. šŸ˜€ I started using a set straight away. I mean how can you resist. It’s futile! They are absolutely gorgeous.

I thought initially that as they were so shiny and smooth, that grip might be an issue. It isn’t. I’ve tried them on Baby Camel, some Merino, Alpaca and even some silk and on all of them, I had no issues with grip or slipiness. They are fantastic. I think these are going to become my needles of choice. Mind you, I am fickle. šŸ™‚

On the fibre front, I ordered some stuff from Red Stone Yarns in March and it arrived on Tuesday. The colours are fantastic and the little silvery bits (Angelique, I think) are a treat. I got some Tussah Silk as well.

IMG_0650.JPGIMG_0655.JPGIMG_0657.JPGIMG_0658.JPGIMG_0659.JPGIMG_0661.JPGIMG_0663.JPG

In order of appearance:

Obsidian, Champagne, Heliotrope, Movie Star, Moonlight, Malachite and Serenity, the Tussah Silk Top.

Now this might sound expensive, but the lovely lady at Red Stone was actually having a sale, so I picked these up for a bargain! Now I need to figure out how to spin batts and tops… šŸ™‚ On the new wheel..

Did I tell you guys that I have a new wheel??!! šŸ˜€

9 thoughts on “Spinning Joy!.. or should that be Sonata?

  1. Oh wow – exciting, exciting, exciting – hope you have a lot of fun with the wheel

    I know you’ll have fun with the Harmony needles – now I just need to get someone to buy them for me :o)

  2. Your wheel looks great, it came very quickly in the end didn’t it

    …. like Diane I’ve only ever seen them in the clear finish before, yours looks very distinguished in the dark finish…. I hope you’ll be happy together… have you given him / her a name yet?

    I’m looking forward to a lengthier blog about what you think of it…. nice batts too… have looked at Redstone but they seem a little pricy (I know they advertise as luxury batts) especially with shipping to the UK….. what do you think of them?

  3. Colour me jealous! That’s a gorgeous wheel! And some lovely squooshy spinny goodness, too!

    Nevermind; you’ll be pleased to know that I am now the proud owner of a Canon 40D and it’ll have it’s trial day at Wonderwool! šŸ™‚

  4. Ooh, someone must have been a very good girl….that’s a lot of yumminess in one blog post. šŸ™‚

    Love the wheel. My Symphony is the same finish, I believe (Walnut, right?). Can’t wait to hear how you get on with it….maybe someday I’ll need a travel wheel, too! šŸ™‚

    And all those lovely fibres. I’ve just bookmarked that store, looks like some very nice stuff there.

    And the Harmony needles are great, aren’t they? I have a few of each type of the Options tips right now, but am thinking any new ones I buy will be Harmonies. I love how quiet they are, and they feel nicer in my hands than the nickel ones.

    Wow….can’t wait to see what you spin!

Leave a Reply

