FO: Cherie Amour

Cherie Amour has been on my to-do list since it was published on Knitty. The idea was to complete some of the WIPs I’ve had lying around since before the move and then start on something new. It wasn’t even at the top of my list.

This all changed when I bought some yarn off a lovely lady on the AY forum. It turned up, I looked at it, smooshed it some and then turned to Ravelry to find a suitable pattern. Cherie Amour stood out and shouted ‘Knit me, knit me! I’ll look lovely in that there Manos you’ve just bought!” Hmm. I cast on pretty much straight away.

Here it is in all it’s glory:

IMG_0596.JPGIMG_0607.JPG

Yarn: Manos del Uruguay in shade 9695 x 4.5 skeins.
Pattern: Cherie Amour from Knitty.com
Needles: 5.5mm KnitPicks Options and 9mm Denise Interchangeables
Modifications: None.

I followed the charts as they were written and it all worked out beautifully. The only issue I have is that the middle ribbing needs to be tighter I think. My pictures make it looks bigger on me than it actually is. Or maybe it’s me that is big!! 🙂

I made the Small to fir bust 34″ and I’m thinking maybe I should’ve gone for the XS instead. I know there was a few threads on the Knitty Group on Ravelry that talked about working out the neckline decreases etc, but I thought I’d give it a try first before reading them. I’m glad I did it that way round. The charts are pretty clear, once you work out that the decreases at the neckline are followed on either side of the knitting, and the pattern repeat is the bit in the middle of the chart marked out in red. You’ll know what I mean if you ever knit this or have knit this! Ok enough rambling. I’m going to enjoy wearing this a lot!

7 thoughts on “FO: Cherie Amour

Leave a Reply

