FO: More socks.

Ollie's Bamboo SocksOllie's Bamboo Socks 3

Yarn: Rellana Flotte Socke 4 fach Colori in Shade 3004
Pattern: Once again a mix of different bits from other patterns
Needles: Prym 2.5mm 80cm Circ

I used magic loop again. I can not believe how easy it is to do!! šŸ™‚ These are plain socks again. I think as Ollie likes the variegated yarns, it’s better to see way the stripes work out. He’s also not really a pattern-y kind of person. Although I do want to make some Haretons and a pair of Jules for him some time soon.

The new thing I learnt with these socks was using the double-stitch short row heels method. Vampy was kind enough to point out two sites that show this method a few posts ago and that’s what I did. I like it. It’s different to the wraps and takes a little getting used to and it’s definitely easier. I think it looks good too. The links for this method are here and here.

There are other things being made, but more about them in the coming weeks. šŸ™‚

Happy Easter to everyone.

7 thoughts on “FO: More socks.

  1. Lovely yarn. šŸ™‚ I do want to try Magic Loop myself, but will have to wait til my teacher returns from Down Under. šŸ˜¦

    Happy Easter to you, too. Do you have snow?! šŸ˜›

  2. I haven’t made socks with the magic loop yet….I’m more of a DPN kinda girl – not real fond of the circs.

    Great socks! Ollie is one lucky guy!

  3. Cool socks. I hate the wrap short row method…kind of leaves too many holes. Love working with the two circs method but have not tried magic loop yet. I will need to study the method for the heel that you gave a link to, I do like the way that heel looks.

  4. I love magic loop, nice to hear you’re a convert, too! šŸ™‚ I find it so much nicer to have everything on one needle–easy to transport, and I don’t need 2 of every size of circ, either. (Not that needle shopping is bad–but I’d rather spend my pennies on yarn!)

    Lovely socks there, lucky Ollie. I’ll have to check out that heel technique. I’ve been meaning to try the Snicket pattern anyway, so maybe I’ll give that heel a go. Since I got the Cat Bordhi book I’ve been doing all of my heels her way….maybe I should give something else a chance!

Leave a Reply

