Quick question for you all..

The Tangled Yoke is very nearly finished and hasn’t been worked on for over 2 weeks.. oops. I have just the button bands to do and have found that halfway through the first one, I am struggling because I’m doing it on straights and the knitted material is really heavy and weighing down on my hands, causing cramps. 😦

We went into the village yesterday and I had the opportunity to pop into a couple of the yarn shops and the haberdashery. I have circulars long enough that this whole process should get easier. I also have buttons! πŸ˜€

What I need to ask you all is which set I should use:

IMG_0404.JPG

I have orange and I have green. Let me know which you think go better!! πŸ™‚

16 thoughts on “Quick question for you all..

  1. The green ones blend in beautifully with the yarn. But the orange ones make a statement and really stand out. I think maybe you don’t want the feature of the cardigan to be the buttons but the cabling, though. So I’ll say subdued green buttons. Even though the orange ones are luvverly. πŸ˜€

  2. That’s a really tough question! I have an unwavering love of orange, and those buttons are gorgeous. But, I’ll have to agree with Kate’s posting up above there and vote for the green. They look to be a wonderful complement for the yarn.

  3. As a first time commenter I’m not sure whether I should weigh in with my tuppence worth but as I’m for the green too I will :o)

    Your green yarn is glorious and this promises to be a heavenly tangled yoke.

    My compliments also on your awesome Hemlock Ring Blanket

  4. I would say go with the green buttons Kai. They blend in a bit more so you can wear almost any color t-shirt under your sweater. The orange buttons, although seriously fun, will limit the colors of the t-shirts you can wear. I can’t WAIT to see your cardi. I am GREEN with envy that you are able to knit it. I looked at the pattern and it freaks me out.

  5. What Kate said…

    But those orange ones are deeply fab (I love buttons which look like boiled sweets) so you must do another plain green cardi to put them on!

  6. I love the contrast of the orange and green, but for this cardigan which is such a classic that the green will work better as it’s already been said you don’t want the buttons to be the dominant feature…

  7. My eye was initially drawn to the orange, and I love them. But I think everyone else is probably right that for this particular pattern, you might not want people’s eye drawn to the buttons so much! But man, those orange ones are fun. πŸ™‚

    I can’t wait to see the finished project! I love the look of Tangled Yoke, I’m eager to see how yours worked up. I’ll have to make myself tackle it someday….I still tend to have a fear of sweaters, but I’m trying to get over it!

  8. Depends on what you want. The orange makes a lovely contrast while the green is a beautiful blend.

    I’d go with the green.

    AND I didn’t check what everyone else said before I wrote this.

  9. Those are such lovely buttons and I do love that orange/green combination but I am siding with the others, I guess the cables are the star. Would love to see that orange/green combination in something else though, maybe one of those cute neck warmer thingies with the buttons? I can’t think what they are called but I have seen a few in blogland.

  10. I really like the green ones…they’re interesting but yet won’t draw attention away from the skillful knitting. It’s going to look fantastic, though…no matter which buttons you use!

Leave a Reply

