Brand New Beginning…

Happy New Year to one and all! 🙂

It’s been a busy week or so.. I flew back to Manchester on the 23rd and it was pretty much all about eating and chilling and chatting and laughing. I love my family! 🙂 No rows, which I have to admit is a lovely change…

The girls decided that this year we were going to have stockings. Generally, it’s just a tree with pressies underneath, but the stockings were definitely a great addition. Lots of little treats inside!

I got lots of bits of make-up and nail varnish and some toiletries as well. Gorgeous.

Knitting-wise, everyone loved their handknits:

IMG_0035.JPGIMG_0041.JPGIMG_0036.JPGIMG_0045.JPGIMG_0040.JPGIMG_0038.JPG

I came back just before New Years eve and Ollie and I did our pressie swap and I opened all the lovely gifts that I’d got from friends:

IMG_0056.JPG

Harmony Guides from Ollie:

IMG_0062.JPG

Socks from Diane:

IMG_0057.JPG

It’s a made-up pattern using Cherry Tree Hill Supersock!! 😀

Socks from Kate:

IMG_0058.JPG

Pattern is Monkey from Cookie A and the yarn is from Cairi’s Etsy Shop in Plumbey. Gorgeous!

Fiddlesticks Country Silk from Tess:

IMG_0060.JPG

And from Cairi some of Tess’s Lace dyed by the wizard herself in a lovely shade of Teal!

IMG_0061.JPG

And some gorgeous mother-of-pearl stitch-markers.. they are so lovely… *drool*, the yarn in this photo is actually some that I bought just before Christmas, from Cairi 🙂 :

IMG_0059.JPG

I think I have been well and truly spoilt this Christmas. I hope the girls like what I’ve sent them, when it eventually reaches them.. grrrr post..

I also made a scarf for Ollie while I was at my parents:

IMG_0067.JPGIMG_0066.JPG

Yarn: Schachenmayr Nomotta Alpaka in 0010 Brown x 3
Pattern: My So Called Scarf by Stacey
Needles: 5.5mm Denise Interchangeables

This is the second one that I have made and I will probably make more. I love this simple pattern. Also, the Alpaca is wonderful to knit with. So soft! Definitely a must try.

This wasn’t the only pressie Ollie got, but as it’s the one that I knitted, it’s the one that I’ll share. He got books and other stuff too! Honest! 🙂

Anyway, here’s to a fantastic year for everyone.

8 thoughts on “Brand New Beginning…

  1. You were spoilt indeed! 😀 I hope the sockies fit. I note that you didn’t take a picture of the chocs. I guess they didn’t last long. 😛

    I said it elsewhere, but I’ll say it again: your family look so happy in their handknitted gifts. It’s lovely when your handiwork is appreciated.

  2. Oooh lovely stuff! I’m sure there were choccies in the parcel I sent too… I bet you’re hiding them all from Ollie 😛

    Glad to hear you had a lovely festive season – must try and catch up soon xxx

Leave a Reply

