FO: Gretel Beret and some more Beanies

Here are the beanies:

IMG_0116 IMG_0117

Yarn: Wendy Fusion in Cardaman x 1
Pattern: My own
Needles: 5.5mm Knit Picks and 5.5mm Denise Interchangeables

And the second one:

IMG_0114 IMG_0115

Yarn: Wendy Fusion in White Pepper x 1
Pattern: My own
Needles: 5.5mm Knit Picks and 5.5mm Denise Interchangeables

The top one is for Mum and the bottom one is for Dad. These will match the scarfs that they both got last year!! πŸ™‚

Both were extremely easy and fun knits and I got them each done in a day each, phew.

This is the last hat in the series I think:

IMG_0125.JPG IMG_0126.JPG

Yarn: Artesano Alpaca Inca Cloud in Cream x 3
Pattern: Gretel By Ysolda
Needles: 3.75mm & 4.5mm Knit Picks and 4.5mm Denise Interchangeables

The yarn I chose for this was not chunky enough, so rather than go hunting for a more suitable yarn, I decided to use the yarn doubled up. I had 4 balls in stash and pulled them all out and just worked from two balls at the same time. It worked out really well!

This was a great pattern. Easy to read and well written and I learnt some new stuff too!!

I’m a traditional, long-tail cast-on person. It’s all I’ve really ever done. It suits all of my knitting to date and I’ve never had a problem with it. Never too tight and never too loose. Then, the other month I tried the crochet provisional cast-on and thought wow, this is so cool. With this beret, I once again used the crochet provisional cast-on, but then used the tubular cast-on, if that makes sense. Basically, you crochet just over half the stitches you need to ast-on, pick up through the back loop of the crochet, the number of stitches you need, and then knit in st st for 4 rows. Unpick the crochet cast on and using a dpn in a slightly smaller size, you pick up the other half of the stitches you need. So, for this pattern I needed 96 stitches. I crochet 50, picked up 48 stitches, knit and then unpicked the crochet and picked up the other 48. You then hold the dpn to the back of the work, so your work is in effect folded over and you purl stitches from the back needle and knit stitches from the front. Join in the round and keep doing the rib stitches. It’s great!!!! The tutorial that I used is here.

I’ll definitely make this beret again, in another yarn and this time for myself. This one is going into the pressie pile for now. πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “FO: Gretel Beret and some more Beanies

  1. So that’s my christmas present sorted then? only kidding I love the hats especially gretel! I could have done with a hat today, I’ve just been out in the rain and I’m soaked 😦

Leave a Reply

