FO: Leaf & Acorn Lace Shawl

I have just finished pinning this out for blocking. In all it’s glory:

IMG_0106 IMG_0102

The Acorn and Leaf pattern:

IMG_0104

And the panelling all the way through:

IMG_0105

Yarn: Blue Sky Alpacas Suri Merino in Shade Garden (421)
Pattern: Leaf & Acorn Lace Shawl by Shui Kuen Kozinski
Needles: 7mm Surina Straights

This was a great knit. The pattern is pretty easy to follow and the instructions are very clear. It’s actually a lot bigger than I was expecting. 23″ in Width and a whoppng 92″ in Length. It’ll definitely keep me warm this Winter.

I learnt two new things with this project: Crochet Provisional Cast On and Picot Bind Off.

Both are pretty easy and I can’t understand why I’ve never used them before!

The Picot bind off is so simple. I’ve done the Picot edging before on socks, but this is a completely different method. On the edging you actually use knit togethers and yarn overs and then pick up stiches along the cast on edge, with the bind off, you’re adding more stitches and then casting them off.

As for the crochet cast on, I’d done mine before the lovely Fiona wrote these instructions, so I didn’t have the ‘lifeline’ through the live stitches. Instead, I picked up the stitches as I was unzipping the provisional yarn. Next time I’ll use Fiona’s instructions and see how I get on!

I have just under half the ball left. Any ideas what I can make with that??

12 thoughts on “FO: Leaf & Acorn Lace Shawl

  1. You know Kate, that’s exactly what I thought when I first saw the pattern…. considering I’m new to charts, this was quite a shocking thought for me. 😀

  2. What a gorgeous shawl! The pattern is fabulous! I love Suri Merino……believe it or not, I’m actually knitting with it right now. (Bedsocks for daughter and then a pair for my mom) I just love the feel of the Suri Merino!

Leave a Reply

