Last few days…

I’ve been staying at M’s for the last few days, before we fly out to Germany. The packers were in on Tuesday to pack everything and send it to their warehouse, from which they were driving out on Thursday to Germany.

So, in the final few days, I’ve been running around like a headless chicken sorting out return of keys and flights and when our stuff is arriving etc and have found that it’s not all that much fun. 😦

Anyway, we had a bit of a reprieve yesterday. Ollie left very early to catch his flight and M and I went into London to meet Kate and Diane
We we had coffees and cake and then made our way to a number of different shops. We started off in Borders at Oxford Circus and then made our way to Liberty’s. It’s stunning in there. We looked at some very expensive bags, for Diane, obviously!! They have a haberdashery on the top floor and in there was some lovely yarn. Rowan have a yarn out called Cocoon. I so want some!!! πŸ™‚ It has a lovely sheen and so, so soft.

We then made our way to Carnaby Street and a yarn shop called All The Fun Of The Fair. I bought some lovely buttons from there for the Annie Modesitt Silk Tank, but I’ve packed them away. 😦

I Knit was next and I picked up some lovely yarn:

CTH Lace & Gems

It has little bits of glitter on it!! It’s stunning and is from Cherry tree Hill Alpaca Glitter. My treat to myself before I love this country.

We eventually had some lunch and then visited a fabulous Bead shop in Covent Garden. I was completely overwhelmed. The selection is massive and you could potentially spend a fortune. The only reason that I didn’t is because I don’t have a suitcase for flying to Germany, only a hold-all and that is completely packed already!! The girls did try and persuade me that the bead tubes were very small and would definitely fit in the side pockets, or in my jeans!!!!

Diane’s was our final destination where Kate showed us the fantastic-ness of Ravelry and I definitely can’t wait to get on to it now.

We also tried some drop spindling:

Spinning

The one on the far left is my attempt. Just rolling and stretching with my fingers. The one next to it is M’s using the same method. Much tighter and much nicer! The big roll is the combined efforts of all four of us (Diane, Kate, M and I) and the big lumpy bits are mine. Cool!

I now want a drop spindle. πŸ™‚

M and I stayed for an Indian takeaway and then made our way back to hers. It was a really bad trip 😦 We found that the train from Reading to Newbury had been cancelled and the next bus was about half an hours wait. We got a taxi. Bad move. Hackney cab and it cost £55…. I was not a happy bunny.

Today hasn’t been much better. It’s supposed to be a relaxing day before we fly tomorrow morning and I have found that I can’t get in touch with the removal company, our stuff hasn’t arrived, no one has called and trains won’t be back on tomorrow morning so we have to get the bus to Reading.

Please keep your fingers crossed that things get better.

8 thoughts on “Last few days…

  1. Germany! Woo! That’s a pretty big move, missus. Can’t wait to hear all about it. I’ve spent a fair amount of time over there (mostly in Munich) and it is a nice place to live.

  2. Wow! How did I not know you were moving to Germany? That’s very exciting. πŸ™‚ I hope it all goes smoothly, and I can’t wait to hear from you when you get settled. Where in Germany will you be? We’re hoping to head that way next summer….maybe! πŸ˜‰

  3. Auf Wiedersehen, Pet! ;o).

    I hope you manage to get the move to the land of wonderful sock yarn done with a little stress as poss (eventually), I’ve never moved further than 200 miles, and that was bad enough!.

    Whereabouts are you moving to? We will want a very piccie filled blog when you get there…

    Good luck

    Fi

Leave a Reply

