Worried.

Progress on the Mystery Stole is extremely slow.  Actually, it’s worse than that.  Yesterday, I was sat on the sofa, knitting faster and faster, hoping that I would have completed at least Clue 1 before Clue 3 was released.

Well it wasn’t.  It still isn’t.  I have got to around row 89 of Clue 1 and I am struggling with reading the charts.  This isn’t a problem with the charts, it’s a problem with me.  I have the charts on either side of me and a little piece of paper that i put just above the row that I;’m supposed to be knitting.  The problem with this is that it doesn’t stay in place and I start doubting the row that I’m supposed to be knitting.  This is driving me crazy.  I can’t even remember the row I stopped at yesterday!!! :)  (That is a very wry smile, at my own very stupid stupidity).

I downloaded Clue 3 yesterday and will print it out after I have finished Clue 2.  The likelihood of this actually happening seems to be a little prick of light on the horizon and I can not distinguish it from the haze created by the heat in my imaginary sun drenched world.  I also need to put in a life line after Clue 1.

Can you see that I’m still optimistic about finishng Clue 1 sometime this century?

Piccie of progress so far:

MS3 Clue 1

It looks a bit odd because of the way that I pinned it out.

Better get back to it! 🙂

11 thoughts on “Worried.

  1. It looks lovely Kai. I know the frustration of losing a place so I use a sheet of card to mark the row I am on, weighted down. I write down each row I have finished in a notebook. I also squidge a bit of blue tack and use it to mark the stitch I am on every few stitches, if you know what I mean. Little children have a habit of saying “Mum” just at the wrong moment!

  2. Its looking good. I cross out each line worked (in pencil in case I need to redo) so I am always working above the line, and it gives me a sense of achievement as I score each line off.

  3. I like that..the pattern is showing up reall well.

    To keep my place in the pattern I use a magnetic board behind the pattern and a magnetic ruler (that I bought with the board) on top of the pattern along the row – or for the long rows, a piece of paper weighted with the magnetic ruler.

    My board is only A4 size and although I’m managing with it I’m tempted to get the bigger one I saw here http://www.stitchdirect.co.uk/acatalog/Loran_Accessories.html

  4. I put my pen on top of the paper I use to cover the pattern part to weight it down (so it doesn’t move…..and I only have 1/2 facing me at a time- first I do the right side, then move that aside and do the left. Also, I kept the list of rows separate (1-100) and put a “check mark” next to the number when I finished a row…that way, I knew where I was from day to day.

    Anyhow, take it at your own pace….I’m sure I’ll get more behind soon….I have a lot of other stuff coming up that I need to work on, so the lace may take a back burner.

  5. If it’s any consolation you are further on than me (though I have decided I am the slowest lace knitter in the world).

    I have put my charts on top of a big book, and put bits of paper round so I can only see the row I’m doing. These are fastened on with Post its, and those sticky things you use to mark up long documents*, and an old and heavy mobile phone. On top of the mobile phone is a post it note saying ‘touch this lot at your peril!!!!!’.

    And I write down what row I need to start at – I even write ‘start at row 33’ – in case I get confused and think row 33 is the one I just finished .

    So I think I may finish this sometime next March, if my brain can take it….:o/

    * I think they should get 3M to sponsor this KAL!

    Cheers

    Fi

  6. it’s looking good though Kai 🙂

    If it’s any consolation while clue 1 went really smoothly for me it took me ages (and a long spell in the naughty corner) to get through Clue 2. It’ll all even out for everyone in the end and we’ll all get there together!

    I tick off each row as I complete it, it’s the only way I can keep track of where I’m up to. I was going to suggest the magnetic board too, I saw someone posting about that on AY and think it’s a great idea.

  7. It may be slow going, but it looks great so far! And you’re ahead of me….all I’ve done is swatch. I’m debating whether to go ahead and start, or to make myself finish one other project first, as I have several on the go.

    You’ve received a lot of great suggestions for keeping your place–I’m not sure yet what I’ll do with mine. I was thinking of trying the post-it method, and then I also heard the idea of marking sections of the chart in different colours so I can keep my place within a line, too. It’s certainly a more complex pattern than anything I’ve done before, so I know it will require some focus on my part….

  8. That is looking tremendous. I usually paperclip my covering paper in place – that seems to prevent slippage.

    I’m so impressed with your stole, though it sounds like the pressure of knitting to a deadline is going to make you feel like you’re making mistakes.

Leave a Reply

