Rusted Root

Ok, Ok!!

I get it! Here is a piccie after finishing last night. No modelling, I look a complete tip.

Rusted Root Completed

And the Lace:

Lace Closeup

Yarn: Debbie Bliss Cotton Angora in Lilac (Shade 18)
Pattern: Rusted Root From ZephyrStyle
Needles: 4mm Denise Interchangeables for main body and 3.75mm Denise Interchangeables for all ribbing.

I loved making this. The lace panel helped to break up the monotonous stocking stitch. Round and round and round!

Prison Break First Season, Grey’s Anatomy First Season and some of Northern Exposure Fourth Season, helped with the monotony. 🙂

I used just over 5 x 50g balls and that leaves me with another 4, plus the majority of a 5th. This one will fit my sister perfectly, so I’ll hand it over to her and then next one I make, I shall keep for myself. 🙂

I will definitely be making this again, but I think that the following changes will be made.

1. I’ll knit the neck ribbing first and then progress to the main body, instead of picking up stitches and working the ribbing last.

2. I’ll change the length of the top to be slightly shorter. I made this one longer than it stated in the pattern, but it feels too long at the moment.

3. I have chubby arms so I’ll have to pick up more stitches for the armholes and make sure they’re just a tad looser.

4. I thought I had my cast-off just right. But it feels a little tight with this yarn, so a looser cast-off for the next one.

Silk Corset next, and then Wicked for M and we’ll see about the rest after that!

10 thoughts on “Rusted Root

  1. Lovely! Though can’t see the puffy sleeves on your photo, I saw them on the Zephyr site instead, I like your colour better though…:)

    Zephyr is a nice site isn’t it! I saw some “teatime” stitch markers which I MUST HAVE. I will blame you for this expenditure ;).

  2. I love the tops you’ve knitted, and really like this pattern. 🙂

    If only I could motivate myself to drop some of this excess weight, I’d have a go at making one of these myself.

  3. The Rusted Root is gorgeous – and in my favorite color! What a fabulous job you did. I can’t believe you’re going to give that one away….I wouldn’t be able to part with it. I’d make my sister wait for the next one – LOL. I love Gray’s Anatomay and Northern Exposure – I was so sad when Northern Exposure ended.

Leave a Reply

