Quick update on progress…

Just wanted to say a few things, Rusted Root has bitten the dust. 😦

I found, when I put the sleeve stitches on spare yarn, that I had too many stitches on the needles.  What I found I was doing was making an extra stitch after the lace panel.  I read the instructions and re-read the instructions and thought I had them down and understood.

Obviously not.

I despair at my reading ability, because the second, no wait, third fourth time round of reading, it makes perfect sense.

I looked at Rusted Root and threw it across the room in a complete fit of disgust pondered how I could fix this so that you couldn’t tell how far out I was from the pattern.  There wasn’t a way to fudge it.  The mistake was at such a point (lace panel) that there was no way of hiding it.

Frogged.

The good news is that I’ve started on it again straight away and even though I haven’t made up for days of work, I have completed the first 11 rounds and will eventually make my way back to my pre-frogging stage.  If I haven’t lost the will to live before then.

Also, the yarns that I’m using on the current WIP’s are:

Rusted Root – Debbie Bliss Cotton Angora in Lilac

Annie Modesitt Silk Corset Tank – Alchemy Synchronicity in Pewter

Ollie’s Sailor Ribbed Socks from More SKS – Cygnet Wool Rich 4Ply in Denim

Right, I’m off to try and knit my way back to where I realised my mistake.  If there’s another one, please, don’t tell me.  I don’t want to know.

10 thoughts on “Quick update on progress…

  1. {{{{Hugs}}}} Sending lots of positive knitting Karma your way! That’s what’s so frustrating with lace….I “think” I understand what they’re saying, and just knit away and suddenly, I’ll realize it totally is NOT looking like it should. ARGH!!! (That’s why I have a sweater that’s been in time-out for over a year! And I’m in no hurry to get it out….LOL…..as I’ll have to do a LOT of frogging!!!) The sad thing is that my “problem sweater” isn’t lace…it’s seed stitch!

  2. Oh dear, I hope you had a nice sleep, eventually.

    I know how you feel, I cast on and frogged the Stormwater Shawl at least five times before I got it right, and this is a pattern which fits on one side of an A7 sized card…!

  3. Keep going! It’s horrible having to frog something when you’ve got so far, but you can make it look even better the next time.

    x x x

  4. So sorry to hear about the evil Rusted Root. (even more sorry as I plan to cast mine on tonight, and am now a little afraid!) I hope you can forgive it for being so awful and try it again sometime soon. 😉

    However, your other WIPs look lovely. The Alchemy Synchronicity looks absolutely exquisite….that’s not a yarn I’d seen before. Yummy!

  5. sorry to hear about the frogging 😦 But good news you cast right back on 😀 It will be worth it in the end, I love the pattern and it’s great to wear. Even my sister commented on how nice it was 😉 But I’m not knitting her one!! Good luck, looking forward to seeing more progress piccies.

  6. Well done for frogging – it’s painful at the time, but you’ll feel better about it in the long run. Eat chocolate too and that will help dull the pain.

  7. Sorry to hear about the frogging. ((hugs)) It’ll all be worth it in the end though. 🙂

    I second Lindsey on that Synchronicity yarn. Even in the photo it has a beautiful sheen to it. Lovely!

Leave a Reply

