The Golden Compass

I first read abot Lyra’s world a few years ago when Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials Trilogy was released and I was completely captivated.

The idea of having a ‘Daemon’ that is external to me, my soul and is a reflection of me on a very personal level, fascinated me.
I’ve read theories like this before. Shamanism asks you to look for your totem, an animal that is your guide in life.

To have this placed in fiction was brilliant. I loved the books and Lyra and her fantastic story.

Bearing this in mind, when I found out about the movie to be released at the end of the year (title), I had to visit the site and see what was on there.

This is what I found.

http://goldencompassmovie.com/goldenCompass_blog.swf?id=61609

Is this a likely representation of me? Do I really resemble the Diodium the Snow Leopard?

I like to think so!

9 thoughts on “The Golden Compass

  1. I got Klitus the Snow Leopard. Nice puss! 😀

    I loved the books, but it’s a couple of years since I read them. Might have to dig them out again, or get them on CD so I can listen and knit!

  2. I haven’t taken the test…I will. But just the clip from the film made my spine tingle. I loved those books and have read each more than twice!!

    Thanks for the link.

  3. Alchaeon the ocelot…

    I think it was during the filming of this that my friend was prevented from getting home as her street (in the middle of Oxford) had been turned into a film set!

Leave a Reply

