Completely Wicked..

Warning: Picture heavy post! πŸ™‚
This week has been pretty busy and exhausting, hence the lack of posts.

I started off the week in the office and then ended up on the road for the latter half of it. A convention in London for people in the Information Security was cool.. Ollie and I went together and walked around seeing new products and chatting to some old colleagues.

Onto the meat of the post, I’ve finally finished Wicked from ZephyrStyle πŸ˜€

This one is me once again squinting in the sun:

Belly In

Me trying to hold the belly in, and failing miserably:

Belly out

All laid out so you can actually see the top itself:

Laid out

And a closeup of the cabling on the neck:

Wicked Cable

Yarn: Rowan Calmer in Shade 460 (Cream)
Pattern: Wicked from ZephyrStyle
Needles: Denise Interchangeables in size 8 (4.9mm)

I did swatch for Wicked and acheived the correct gauge, but me being me, I completely ignored that and carried on knitting as I would normally. Unfortunately, this led to the conclusion that I was way off in the gauge world. 😦

Thankfully, with a little fudging, I ended up working at the figures for the size above and ended up with the size below, which I wanted.

So all’s well that ends well!

My sister is over this weekend and she’s tried on Wicked and decided she wants one exactly the same. Thankfully I have loads of calmer to make another one with! πŸ™‚

The completed Wicked took just under 4 50g balls of Calmer.

I was naughty a few weeks ago and purchased some bits and pieces to help with my knitting life. Thankfully it wasn’t yarn. Just:

Winder

and:

Swift

The winder is a manual one (not sure you can get one where you flip a switch and off it goes) and the swift is made from Walnut wood. It’s llloooooovvveeellllyyyy *drools*. I’ve been playing since it was delivered. I now have nice cakes of yarn. πŸ˜€

It takes a little getting used to at first (and I’m still trying to get it right), but what I’ve found is that if I don’t get the threader and yarn at the right angle and taut while winding, the yarn goes under the spindle and ends up caught in the cogs. 😦 I’ve had to untangle it a few times. I’ve wound up some silk and some sock yarn and I have PLENTY of skeins to practice on!!

9 thoughts on “Completely Wicked..

  1. Wicked looks wonderful! You did a fabulous job! I think the Calmer was the perfect choice – definitely a soft and cuddly cotton. You’ll find that your ball winder and swift will be wonderful tools for spinning as well. How’s your “spinning” coming along? I haven’t seen any posts about it lately.

    Wow….you’ve completed so many wonderful projects lately! I’m so jealous!

  2. Wicked does look just wicked! What a great top for spring and it fits really well. The Calmer looks nice. I haven’t knit with it yet.My wool winder just died on me, it was a bit old! Although it is a pain, there is something quite therapeutic about hand winding wool.

  3. I have been winding yarn by hand all weekend for my “big cardigan project” and now my arm hurts a bit (at least I have a swift which made it a *bit* easier than using the backs of the dining chairs!).

  4. You look great in that Wicked, Kai! Well done! I can’t wait to start on my Zephyr style projects….whenever the yarn gets around to arriving! πŸ˜‰

    I love my winder and swift….I look for any excuse to wind yarn now, I bet you will too! πŸ˜‰ Have fun winding away!

  5. Your Wicked is brilliant, Kai! Smart of you to modify it to get the correct size. Anyway, I want one now I’ve seen yours knitted up, so thanks for that! Hmph! πŸ˜‰

    I’m also drooling over your swift. That’s the type I’d love to haveÒ€”way better than the umbrella onesÒ€”not that I’m willing to shell out for one any time soon. Couldn’t live without my winder though.

  6. Looks like you got some great weather so you can wear your lovely top! πŸ˜‰ The swift is gorgeous. Have lots of fun with your new toys!

Leave a Reply

