A couple of things…

… Ollie was browsing the net a little while ago and came across some Alpaca Socks which he liked on a website that is run by Toft-Alpacas. For ages, he couldn’t remember the site name, so last week, we did a search and found it again…!!

I have decided that next month, I shall buy a pair of Alpaca Socks for Ollie. In the meantime, I noticed that they offer 25g bags of fleece for spinners, for free.. so I called them up and asked for samples of their 4ply and DK (What?? I couldn’t resist) and also mentioned about the fleece and the lovely lady sent me out 2 sample bags and their colour range for the DK and 4ply!! 😀

I am a seriously happy bunny..

Ogle at the fleece:

Alpaca Fleece

It’s very, very soft and the brown is my favourite so far… If you look closely, you can see bits of straw still in the fleece. Now I’m not actually a spinner and I have never dealt with raw fleece before, but I thought I should start somewhere and I couldn’t think of a better way than this!! 🙂 I’m hoping that some spinners that I know might give me a hand with figuring out what I’m going to do and also the internet as well. At the moment, I’m content to look and feel, but hopefully soon I will be getting a spinning wheel and I can really and truly try the lovely Alpaca samples… hmmm 🙂

In other news, this is an update on Ivy’s progress:

Ivy Progress 2

As you can see I have finished everything but the right front panel… that’s the bit in the middleish there, still on the needles. I’m enjoying this in the sense that I know it’s nearly done. I still have to write out, line for line, how the right front panel should be knitted, but I have a little bit more ribbing/cabling to do before I get there. I want it finished so that I can wear it!!! 🙂

10 thoughts on “A couple of things…

  1. Ivy is looking beautiful – you do some really lovely work. The fleece looks rather exciting, though I’m happy for the finished product myself. 🙂 Far too lazy to take up spinning.

  2. Hi

    I have tried a bit of spinning, using a home made spindle of CDs (the receipe for this impliment is somewhere on the Angel Yarns forum, it cost about £4.00 for the bits). Spinning is challenging, but it’s very satisfying when you do produce a length of yarn!.

    Cheers

    Fi

  3. Oh, Ivy is going to be gorgeous! I can’t wait till you finish!

    Spinning is wonderful….it’s very relaxing. There are several videos that show spinning with both a wheel and a hand spindle….it just takes practice. Here’s my favorite site – on the left side, you can select a number of videos to look at for demos: http://www.joyofhandspinning.com/

    Here’s a link to an “on line” spinning magazine: http://www.spindlicity.com/winter2006/index.shtml

    There’s also lots of guidelines for washing/cleaning wool and alpaca on line as well. Here’s one that tells you how to clean it and talks about preparing it and spinning:

    http://www.joyofhandspinning.com/alpaca.shtml

    Welcome to a new additiction! I never know which to do….knit or spin. I LOVE both of them!!!!

  4. Alpaca is really easy to spin – you should be able to start with it no problem. I’d be happy to get you started when you get your wheel – I charge in wine and chocolate 😉

Leave a Reply

