All alone… :(

For the next few days I shall be on my own. Ollie has gone to San Fransico for work and he won’t be back until Monday sometime during the day.

The worst thing is that we knew he was going on this trip, we were prepared, but it’s heart-wrenching. We tried spending time together these last few days (more than normal), but it’s been so hectic, we’re lucky if we get to sit and chill for a couple of hours in the evening.

The only thing that I can think of to cheer myself up is to start a new project. So this weekend I am going to go through my Victorian Lace Today book and ogle the pictures and patterns and see if I can pick one out to start.

I know, I know. I said I wasn’t going to start anything till I’d finished everything else, but I’m weak and vulnerable. So there. 🙂

I have also decided that I am changing the ‘must complete all these WIPs first’ to ‘I’ll keep the big projects separate and the socks separate’. This means that I will continue to knit the socks and partners as a side project, for work and for travel and the big projects will be done at home, or where I have more time. So the socks should keep ticking by and once I finish the big projects, I can start some more…… so maybe, having written this down, I might just do a swatch from VLT rather than starting a project….

We’ll see… 🙂

Actually, I fibbed a little. M is coming to stay the weekend, so I’ll be picking her up Friday evening and dropping her back Sunday… so not quite alone…

I’m sorry for fibbing.. but I needed to get you on side and convince you that starting something from VLT was the right thing to do… and now that you are on side (you are aren’t you?) I can tell you that I will have company. I mean you wouldn’t hold it against me would you?

I MISS HIM! Like loads….

5 thoughts on “All alone… :(

  1. Poor thing. 😦 I shall be “alone” next week, too. Though I have the small people to keep me company, by the end of the week I’ll be desperate to have a conversation that doesn’t involve Power Rangers or poo. 😀

    I think you can do whatever you want with your WIPs. I would tentatively suggest that if there’s a project OTN that you keep putting aside constantly, though, then maybe it’s not meant to happen and you could frog it. You’ll have yarn for something else and one less thing hanging over you and making you feel guilty. 😉

    Next week I will be knitting secret socks, so I’m cheating on my one project at a time resolution. But with a whole week on my own, it’s the perfect time to knit Mr B’s birthday present and the shawl isn’t going to be finished by Monday. It’s disappeared..!

  2. {{{HUGS}}} He’ll be home soon….until then, you’ll just have to cuddle lots of yarn. (I know how lonely it is when they’re away……….luckily mine rarely goes off on business.)

  3. Aw, he’ll back before you know it! And it’s a totally good reason to start something from VLT. 🙂 Can’t wait to see which one you decide to knit!

  4. Poor thing 😦 Who does Ollie work for? Neil may be going to San Fran in a couple of weeks too. I look forward to lots of uninterrupted knitting time 😀 but I will miss him.

    Bronte – you could come visit me and bring the mini-Bs. I anticipate being lonely next week too if the weather’s bad (Putney residents don’t like getting their hair-dos wet)

  5. Aww, you poor lamb! Just think about all the happy reunion cuddles and kisses you can have when Ollie comes home!
    You are not weak at all, starting a new project simply shows what a flexibile attitude you have. In a good way.

Leave a Reply

