Festive Update

Sis and I went up to Manchester to spend Christmas with the family. It was still pretty foggy on Saturday morning when we set out and I was hoping that there really wouldn’t be lots of traffic on the roads.. That was my first mistake. There was loads of traffic. Every major motorway/dual carriageway between Goring and Ashton was chocka-block. Great fun. Not.

Having set out at 11.30ish, we didn’t actually get to Mum & Dad’s until 4.30ish.. 5 hours.
This journey should have taken between 3 to 3 and a half hours.

Now normally I wouldn’t complain. People have places to go and things to do, it’s only normal. But on Saturday, I was complaining. I had two more knitted gifts to finish!!!! 😦

I was working on my brother’s s0cks and had finished the first one in about 12 hours. With work getting in the way of course. The second I started on Friday night and was panicking. Big Style. I picked up M on Friday after work and as soon as we got in, had a cuppa and sat down to relax, I handed her some Wendy Fusion and a pair of needles and said ‘Knit Mum’s scarf.’ And she did!!!!

Avi’s (my brother) socks were actually knitted in front of him eventually and I got them done Christmas day. In time for the present swapping. He’s chuffed with them, but it irks me that I couldn’t finish them earlier and wrap them up for him. Mum’s scarf was finished even later still. I think it was around 8 pm-ish on Christmas day in the end. M did loads of it and left me the last half ball to finish.

Dad wore his scarf most of the day. I have the feeling he was very, very happy with it!!

Heena and Anupa (my other sisters) loved their furry scarfs. Thankfully!! I was really worried about these. The good thing was that on Christmas Eve, we were all sat upstairs when one of the girls took my furry scarf and said how much she would love one too. I couldn’t help but grin. The other then said, we’ll pick out colours and can I make them for them.. I said, of course I can. Just let me know what colours they want and I’ll see what I can do… all the while thinking to myself, I’ve made you some!! Ha! Ha!

πŸ™‚ M got some sock wool in bright orange from me and her pair of Hedera. She also got an Erika Knight (New Knits) knitting book from me too.

I picked up some lovely pure silk shawls/scarfs while shopping in Bath for each of the girls and they were really pleased with those as well.

In all the excitement of knitting I forgot to take piccies of people with their pressies. *sigh*.

Now as to what I got… well.. πŸ™‚

A coffee machine
A serving platter, with individual ceramic plates
An electric blanket
Gift vouchers
A pair of boots
Perfume
DVD’s of two series that I wanted
Money (from the parents as they always do this. I shall spend this on knitting bits and pieces I think)

As soon as I can get pictures, I shall.. sorry…

Ollie and I (with M) are celebrating Christmas this weekend. And he’s got me ‘something big’ or so he says… πŸ™‚

One thing I have learnt this year, I have to start my Christmas knitting early next year. Like in June.

Oh, one thing I did forget to mention. M broke one of my 5.5mm Brittany Birch knitting needles. I didn’t shout. I didn’t scream. I very calmly stated ‘These things happen. I’ll buy another pair.’ Aren’t you proud of me??!! πŸ™‚

Also, before I sign off for today, please don’t forget to leave a comment in this post. Every comment means that I donate another £1 to MSF/TSF. Thanks for all your help.

2 thoughts on “Festive Update

  1. We didn’t have far to travel this year, but went over the M62 to the in-law’s on Christmas morning and the roads were far busier than I remember them ever being before. Sounds like you had a good time once you’d arrived though πŸ™‚

    And yes, you were very restrained about the needle, no blood, no ambulances… you can be very proud of yourself.
    H.

  2. Found you through your comments to the Yarn Harlot. Sounds like Christmas was great! I received money from my MIL, and bought myself a pair of Brittany birch needles (and some bamboo ones also) as a treat. You are VERY restrained – as I’m not sure what would happen if one of mine got broken. I’ve hardly had time to use them (one scarf only so far) and I can’t stand the thought of having to replace already. This will help me to remember to leave my stuff in the knitting bag where it’s safe. Have a wonderful year!
    Chris

Leave a Reply

