2nd AY Open Day

This was last weekend and we had a great time!! πŸ™‚

My sis came over on Friday night and we sat up discussing what we might possibly be wanting to buy from the warehouse when we got there on Saturday… I wanted to buy:

1. Some yarn for a jumper for Ollie
2. Some more yarn for Ollie’s mum
3. Some addi circs for socks (this should make my life easier, hopefully)
4. Yarn Forward Magazine
5. Maybe some of the new yarns that are in at the moment, like Makalund and Fiddlesticks laceweight.. hmmmm…

My sis wanted to buy some bits and pieces as well like knitting needles and some sock yarn so she can start knitting socks too!

We were late leaving on the Saturday… and to be honest, I have no idea why! We were up early and ready, but it just didn’t seem to happen.

Anyway, once there, I was kinda glad we’d got there when we had, because the place was completely overrun with yarn fanatics!!! There was hardly any space to move in… I had my camera, but unfortunately, taking piccies was out.. I’d forgotten to charge it up the night before. Oops. We saw Bertie and Bronte, Carola and Nadia and it was great catching up with people.. Saw Jobo again too… πŸ™‚ and one person I hadn’t met before was CrossStitchClara…

There had been many more people before us, who we’d missed.. it’s shame..

I introduced M (my sis) to everyone that was still there and then when we started looking for YARN, Jamie (Tess’s second son) came over to help. He’s one good salesman. Thankfully, working in the environment that I do, surrounded by some of the best sales people, I have built up a tolerance and was able to resist his many tactics!!! πŸ˜€

I picked up the mag that I wanted and Ollie chose some yarn for a very thick jumper. Unfortunately, there wasn’t enough of it to make him a full sized jumper, so I’ll have to put in an order at some point soon… I hunted for the circs and didn’t find any in the size that I wanted. Ah well. Tess mentioned that Sue at Get Knitted would have them in and I’ve since got the sizes that I wanted. Yay!

Ollie some more Wendy Fusion in a different colour and I picked up enough in the blue/black mix for a scarf and another blue/grey one to go into the scarf I’m making for my mum… (I’ll post piccies of all my WIPs at some point… )

Tess and her crew were absolutely fabulous. If it wasn’t Tess explaining something to me, it was Jamie helping with cheek tests and yarn choice, or it was Charlie helping with the payment for all the stuff that I wanted to get… and refunding on some of the yarn that I brought back as I’ll never knit it up…

To be honest, I didn’t spend as much as I thought I would, my sister spent more than I did!! But I’m glad, I still have all the yarn that I bought at the my first AY open day!!! I’ve made the Lotus Blossom out of one lot of that stash and nothing else!! I really do have to start making my way through some of that before I buy anymore yarn.. I also still have a huge pine chest full of yarn that I’ve bought over the last year. I think a session on Ebay at some point is called for.. I’m just loathe to part with any of it… *sigh*

Well to conclude, we had a great day and we stayed far later than we should’ve.. we were the last to leave again!! Poor Dawson’s stuck with us for so long.. πŸ™‚

Hopefully there’ll be another open day soon and I can spend a little more!!

2 thoughts on “2nd AY Open Day

  1. I’m so jealous of everyone who goes to AY’s open days – it’s just too far away for me. Thanks for sharing, at least I can enjoy the day vicariously x

  2. I’d be lethal if I went to one of those open days πŸ˜‰ Good job it’s a seven hour drive away from me!!! It is much cheaper for me to buy stuff from AY online, oh well. One day I might actually make it down….

Leave a Reply

