Barcelona…

I got back from Barcelona late last night šŸ˜€

It was a work event and I won’t bore you with the details, other than to say that I stayed in the most fantastic hotel! The room was HUGE… like really big and the bed was kingsize, just for little me!! The view from my window was of the inner court yard of the hotel, but one of my colleagues had a brilliant view of the harbour. Unfortunately, I didn’t get round to taking a piccie of it…

The hotel was The Grand Marina and here are some pictures:

My Room:
My Room

My Packing

We got there quite late on Tuesday evening, as our flight out of Heathrow was delayed for quite a few hours.. we changed (having stood and gawped at my room for ages and ages) and made it down to the bar… Let’s just say it was a late night, what with being an hour ahead of the UK as well.

We had a conference the next morning that started pretty early, but thankfully, after the death by powerpoint, we were allowed lunch and then told about this lovely ‘team-building’ exercise we were all supposed to go on. It was a treasure hunt that involved questions on Barcelona and taking pictures of certain monuments, people etc in a specific way.

My colleagues and I decided we really weren’t up for it, so we decided that we’d wander off on our own and see the sites for ourselves.

We went to two Gaudi houses

Gaudi House 1 from the outside:

Gaudi 1

And a close-up of the stunning architecture:

Gaudi 2

The the second Gaudi house, see the similarities?

Gaudi 3

The inside:

Gaudi 4

Inside Out:

Gaudi 5

Caroline and Kay:

Caroline & Kay

More of the top and ouside:

Gaudi 6

A closeup of what I call the Sentinels:

sentinel closeup

and the Cathedral

Cathedral

Me trying to be ‘artistic’:

Cathedral 2

Cathedral on the inside, ceiling:

Cathedral Ceiling

all of which are very, very stunning!!!

I called Ollie to say that a trip to Barcelona is definitely 0n the cards! The poor man just said ‘Yes baba’. So sweet. šŸ˜€

One thing I really wasn’t impressed with was the food in the restaurants that are part of the hotel. It was pretty dire. On the first day, lunch was a very odd looking bit of pork, which they told me was beef, served with some rocket. As they said it was beef, I asked for the veggie option and got some very oily gnocchi with sun dried tomotoes and mushrooms.. it was edible. The dessert would have been nice if the pears hadn’t been boiled to death. I’ll come to the lunch on the second day in a second…

After we’d wandered around Barcelona, we headed back to the hotel and got ready for a night out and an awards ceremony. The seafood restaurant that we went to was nice, but as the menu was pre-picked, it wasn’t quite what I wanted. I understand though as we were such a huge group of people. Around 100… it was easier to have a set menu.

Back to the lunch the next day, they brought out a beef starter and obviously I asked for a vegetarian option. Mozerella and tomatoes.. very nice. They then brought out fried quid with beans. Ummm… no. I don’t think so. I asked for the veggie option and two other people on my table asked as well. The waitress got a bit huffy and said they only had five vegetarian meals for all of us.. Five. I very nearly told her that that really wasn’t my problem.

I wish I had. The food that came out was not nice. It was a side plate of spinach (over-cooked) and some fried veggies – brocolli, peas in the pod and peppers. The whole meal was the size of my fist. Not very filling at all. I was seriously not impressed.

As you can imagine, I was looking forward to some decent food at the airport. Unfortunately, I didn’t get a chance!! šŸ˜€ I went shopping instead. Got Ollie some salami.. he loves cold meats. And myself some very nice pj’s (cami top and silk bottoms) very nice indeedy!!

I have to say though, I’m very glad to be back.

2 thoughts on “Barcelona…

  1. You lucky girl, I’d love to go there. My parents went there last year and loved it. Your photos are great, which camera do you have? I’m trying to decide which new digital camera to get for christmas, as mine is a bit naff!!! šŸ™‚

  2. The architecture is amazing isn’t it? and you’ve done it justice with your photography!!

    Thanks for the comments on my blog and costing me and my parents money in a good cause. I could almost hear you both singing!!!

Leave a Reply

