FOs: Komet Socks, Baby Cabled Socks and High Energy Socks

In between all the planning and execution of the wedding, there was actually some knitting. A couple of big projects, which are nearly finished now, and a few smaller ones. One big project just needs seaming and the other a couple of sleeves knitted and attached.

I do have some finished socks for you today!

Komet Socks

The first pair, I knit for a friend. She’s been watching me knit for a few years and about a year and a half ago she asked if I would mind making her a pair… I, of course, jumped at the chance to convert a newbie to knitting make something lovely for a friend, who actually wanted something made. I picked out a selection of yarns from my stash and a couple of patterns and she chose the yarn and pattern she liked.

Komet Socks

Yarn: Regia Colour 4Ply in Dark Pink
Pattern: Komet Socks by Stephanie van der Linden
Needles: 2.5mm KnitPicks
Notes/Modifications: I worked the German Short Row heel as instructed and I fell in love. It’s such an easy construction and makes perfect sense to me. It’s the heel I’ll be working on most of my socks now I think. The rest was pretty much as instructed. I worked the socks toe up and then when it came to continuing the pattern up the leg, I made sure to stop at row 12, instead of the 13 stated in the pattern. This meant that the 2 rows worked around the sock during the heel actually use a pattern row and a plain row, which leaves a pattern row to start on for the back of the leg.

The recipient is very pleased with them and wears them as much as she can!!

Baby Cabled Socks

The second pair was made from the leftover yarn from the Komet socks.. There wasn’t that much left over, but just enough for these.

Baby Cabled Socks

Yarn: Regia Colour 4Ply in Dark Pink
Pattern: Baby Cabled Socks by Dawn Brocco
Needles: 2.5mm KnitPicks
Notes/Modifications: Worked as pattern instructs, but the heel was the German Short Row as with the Komet Socks… I said I loved that heel!!

These were a really quick and easy knit and the texture makes them interesting. I’ll probably make these again at some point… Maybe. πŸ™‚

High Energy Baby Socks

And the last pair were made from the left over yarn from the Neely O’Haras I made for Kate.

High Energy Baby Socks

Yarn: Schoppel-Wolle Zauberball in Brombeeren
Pattern: High Energy Baby Socks by Jodi Green
Needles: 2.5mm KnitPicks
Notes/Modifications: I worked these toe up and the stocking stitch was a breeze. Once again I worked the German Heel. The pattern at the top was worked as instructed, as was the picot hem. But instead of doing it at the beginning, I worked it at the end and cast off at the same time. It’s a little tight, but for a baby, it should be fine.

High Energy Baby Socks

Another easy knit to use up some left over yarn! I actually had enough for another pair of baby socks which I started a few days ago… I finished the first sock today while sitting outside in the glorious sunshine, in between working in the garden.

One sock done... One more to go.

Hopefully the rest of the weekend will be the same… Slow and relaxing, with some knitting and gardening!!

It's beautiful outside!!

This is the oak I was sat under today… All speckled and cooling in the heat.

Our oak

I hope you’re all having a good weekend too… Let me know what you’re up to!

2 thoughts on “FOs: Komet Socks, Baby Cabled Socks and High Energy Socks

  1. Oh knitting in dappled shade, so glorious. Plenty of knitting for me too this weekend, lots of sun too, no socks though and that Komet pattern has been a fav of mine for a long time, maybe I’ll finally get around to it, yours look great.

    • I love those kind of weekends, where everything is relaxed and knitting!! πŸ˜€ The Komets were a great knit… But these were HUGE! a 40/41 (is that a size 8 UK??) European women’s size.. When you’re used to knitting a 37/4 it’s a bit hard to knit larger socks. πŸ™‚

Leave a comment